T-town Competes In Indoor Track Meet


Published on March 31 2014 1:17 pm
Last Updated on March 31 2014 1:17 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Several area teams competed in the Illinois Prep Top Times Indoor Track & Field Classic this past weekend.

In the girls meet, Effingham St. Anthony had several competitors place. In the 400, Elizabeth Falconburg finished 11th with a time of 1:05.42. Kristin Slaughter finished fifth in the pole vault at 9 feet, 9 inches.

Teutopolis High School's Anna Hartke took fifth in the high jump with a leap of 5 feet, 2 inches.

Placing in the girls meet for Newton were Hannah Litzelman seventh in the 200 in 27.12. McKendra Barthelme claimed fifth in the 60 hurdles in 9.61 and fifth in the long jump at 16-11. The Eagles' 800 relay team of Barthelme, Taylor Johnson, Lexie Davidson and Litzelman finished sixth with a time of 1:50.83. Newton's 1600 relay team of Johnson, Madison Kinder, Davidson and Litzelman took 12th in 4:26.40.

Neoga's Courtney Croy finished fourth in the long jump with a leap of 17 feet, 2 1/2 inches. Taylor Rich finished ninth in the triple jump at 32-10 1/2. The 800 relay team took 12th in 1:52.56. Members were Taylor Rich, Jaycie Roy, Olivia Ott and Courtney Croy.

In the boys meet, T-town's Kyle Blievernicht finished fifth with a time of 52.77 in the 400 meter dash. The Wooden Shoes' 1600 relay team finished fifth in 3:38.88. Team members were Nick Bierman, Blake Mette, Riley Drees and Blievernicht. Andrew McWhorter finished sixth in the pole vault at 13 feet.

"I was very happy with the results," said T-town Coach Connie Deters. "The athletes are working hard."

Cumberland's Tye Sutherland won the 800 with a time of 1:58.15. Monte Wolke took seventh in the pole vault at 12-6.

Neoga's Corey Kersey captured first place in the long jump at 20 feet, 11 3/4 inches, first in the triple jump at 44-3/4 and seventh in the high jump at 6 feet, 2 inches.

Stewardson-Strasburg/s Jason Fry was the champion in the shot put with a throw of 53 feet, 1 1/2 inches.

Newton's 1600 relay team captured fourth place in 3:38.80. Team members were Joseph Stone, Austin Angel, Gunner Pickens and Lucas Stone.