Teutopolis Wins Another Tennis Sectional


Published on October 19 2013 11:02 pm
Last Updated on October 23 2013 6:35 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Members of Teutopolis High School's tennis team that claimed the sectional championship are, left to right, Assistant Coach Debbie Stephens, Kara Schwinke, Taylor Deters and Ashley Hemmen (third place doubles), Kaitlin Deters, Holley Wright (first place singles), Elena Breer and Allison Vogt (second place doubles), Coach Kaye Kimpling, and Volunteer Coach Terry Kimpling.

Teutopolis won the high school girls tennis sectional hosted by Effingham High School.

Teutopolis finished with 25 points. Olney finished second and Vandalia and Flora tied for third place. St. Anthony finished fifth with 11 points and Effingham tied with Greenville for sixth with eight points. Hillsboro and Salem tied for eighth place.

Holley Wright of Teutopolis won the singles tournament, defeating Hannah Blythe of Vandalia.  Jenny Walters of St. Anthony defeated Jaclyn Shan of Olney for third place and all four of those girls advance to state.

Kelsey Shipman and Alex Kauble of Olney defeated Elena Breer and Allison Vogt of Teutopolis for the doubles championship and Taylor Deters and Ashley Hemmen of Teutopolis defeated Audrey Jensen and Nicole Shan of Olney for third place in doubles and all eight of those girls advance to State.

The state tournament will begin Thursday throughout Chicagoland.

Effingham Sectional


First round

Gaffner (G) defeated Speraneo (H), 6-1, 6-1

Boeker (S) defeated Nichols (V), 4-6, 6-4, 6-1

Second Round

Shan (O) defeated Schutzbach (SA), 6-1, 6-0

Bannister (E) defeated Maynard (S), 6-3, 6-0

Blythe (V) defeated Deters (TT), 4-6, 6-1, 6-2

Pearce (F) defeated Gaffner (G), 6-3, 4-6, 6-3

Walters (SA) defeated Boeker (S), 6-0, 6-1

Kull (E) defeated Warren (F), 6-2, 6-1

Thomas (G) defeated Paden (H), 7-5, 6-3

Wright (TT) defeated Shan (O), 6-2, 6-3

Third Round

Shan (O) defeated Bannister (E), 6-1, 6-0

Blythe (V) defeated Perace (F), 6-3, 6-2

Walters (SA) defeated Kull (E), 6-2, 6-0

Wright (TT) defeated Thomas (G), 67-1, 6-0

Fourth Round

Blythe (V) defeated Shan (O), 6-1, 6-1

Wright (TT) defeated Walters (SA), 6-1, 6-1


Wright (TT) defeated Blythe (V), 6-1, 6-4

Third Place

Walters (SA) defeated Shan (O), 6-4, 7-6 (7-3)


First Round

Anderson-Anderson (H) defeated Fred-Blake (E), 6-2, 6-3

Patel-Henderson (G) defeated Dothager-Meyer (V), 6-2, 6-2

Second Round

Shipman-Kauble (O) defeated Eller-Guv (G), 6-0, 6-0

Wagley-Gindlesberger (F) defeated Koester-Hammer (SA), 6-4, 3-6, 6-4

Brimberry-Leander (V) defeated Holst-West (S), 2-6, retired

Hemmen-Deters (TT) defeated Anderson-Anderson (H), 6-0, 6-0

Winka-Briscoe (F) defeated Patel-Henderson (G), 6-0, 6-2

Shan-Jensen (O) defeated Johnson-Allen (E), 6-0, 6-2

Rentfrow-Schmidt (SA) defeated Bowman-King (H), 6-3, 7-5

Vogt-Breer (TT) defeated Geurin-Hofelich (S), 6-0, 6-0

Third Round

Shipman-Kauble (O) defeated Wagley-Gindlesberger (F), 6-0 6-0

Hemmen-Deters (TT) defeated  Brimberry-Leander (V), 6-0, 6-0

Shan-Jensen (O) defeated Winka-Briscoe (F), 6-1, 6-1

Vogt-Breer (TT) defeated Rentfrow-Schmidt (SA), 6-0, 6-0

Fourth Round

Shipman-Kauble (O) defeated Hemmen-Deters (TT), 6-0, 6-0

Vogt-Breer (TT) defeated Shan-Jensen (O), 6-0, 6-2


Shipman-Kauble (O) defeated Vogt-Breer (TT), 6-3, 6-1

Third Place

Hemmen-Deters (TT) defeated Shan-Jensen (O), 6-4, 6-3