St. Anthony, Effingham, Newton Send Tennis Players To State


Published on May 22 2023 9:41 am
Last Updated on May 22 2023 12:36 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Singles winners were, left to right, Evan Uhl (Olney), Thad Dillow (Effingham), Bobby Powless (Flora) and Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield.

Effingham St. Anthony, Effingham and Newton will be represented at the State Tennis Tournament after competing in the St. Anthony Tennis Sectional during the weekend.

Olney won the team championship with 25 points followed by St. Anthony 14, Newton 14, Flora 11, Casey-Westfield 10, Effingham 10, Teutopolis 10, Robinson 6 and Charleston 0.

Advancing for the Bulldogs will be Manaye Mossman and Aidan Tegeler in doubles after finishing second and Adam Rudibaugh and Evan Mossman, also in doubles, after finishing fourth.

Effingham's Thad Dillow will advance in singles play after taking second.

Newton's Ben Street and Isaac Street captured the No. 1 doubles and will advance.

Others advancing in singles were Evan Uhl (Olney), Bobby Powless (Flora) and Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield). Julien Derome and Jarrett Doll from Olney also advanced in doubles.

The State Final Tournament will be held Thursday through Saturday in the Chicago area.

St. Anthony Sectional


Round 1

Evan Pryor (Effingham) defeated Will Klipp-kuo (Charleston), 6-1, 6-0

Isaac Klingler (Olney) defeated Duke Thompson (Robinson), 6-0, 6-0

Round 2

Evan Uhl (Olney) defeated Ollie Collins (Flora), 6-0, 6-1

Myles Stortzum (Teutopolis) defeated Jackson Schultz (St. Anthony), 6-1, 6-2

Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield) defeated Isaac Kocher (Newton), 7-6 (2), 6-3

Eli Rosborough (Robinson) defeated Evan Pryor (Effingham), 6-3, 6-0

Isaac Klingler (Olney) defeated Brandon Jones (Charleston), 6-3, 6-1

Thad Dillow (Effingham) defeated Carter Davidson (Teutopolis), 6-2, 6-2

Joao Sandoval (Newton) defeated Connor Eggars (St. Anthony), 6-0, 6-1

Bobby Powless (Flora) defeated Avery Tutewiler (Casey-Westfield), 6-0, 6-1

Round 3

Evan Uhl (Olney) defeated Myles Stortzum (Teutopolis), 6-1, 6-0

Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield) defeated Eli Rosborough (Robinson), 6-4, 2-6, 6-3

Thad Dillow (Effingham) defeated Isaac Klingler (Olney), 6-1, 6-0

Bobby Powless (Flora) defeated Joao Sandoval (Newton), 6-1, 6-0


Evan Uhl (Olney) defeated Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield), 6-1, 6-1

Thad Dillow (Effingham) defeated Bobby Powless (Flora), 6-4, 6-2


Evan Uhl (Olney) defeated Thad Dillow (Effingham), 6-1, 6-0

Third Place

Jorge Crespo (Casey-Westfield) defeated Bobby Powless (Flora), 6-0, 6-0


Round 1

Cody Waggoner-Derek Steward (Robinson) defeated Parker Pounds-Austin Fahrenbacher (Charleston), 6-3, 6-2

Noah Thompson-Oliver Lee (Teutopolis) defeated Ross Schaefer-Cannon Bockhorn (Effingham), 6-2, 6-4

Round 2

Julian Derome-Jarrett Doll (Olney) defeated Alex Bigard-Wesley Britton (Newton), 6-0, 6-0

Brian Wright-Owen Richardson (Casey-Westfield) defeated Justin PIetz-Braxton Pipher (Flora), 6-4, 6-0

Manaye Mossman-Aidan Tegeler (St. Anthony) defeated Blayne Pals-Preston Siner (Effingham), 6-2, 6-1

Kolten Tabbert-Colin Habing (Teutopolis) defeated Waggoner-Steward (Robinson), 6-0, 6-2

Adam Rudibaugh-Evan Mossman (St. Anthony) defeated Thompson-Lee (Teutopolis), 6-2, 6-2

Marcus Kocher-Aidan Weidner (O) defeated Grant Cochonour-Kellen Sullivan (Casey-Westifeld), 6-1, 6-1

Jordan Gocey-Adam Pietz (Flora) defeated Kyle Ross-Azie Brazzell (Charleston), 6-1, 6-0

Isaac Street-Ben Street (Newton) defeated Owen Schmidt-Aiden Elder (Robinson), 6-1, 6-0

Round 3

Derome-Doll (Olney) defeated Wright-Richardson (Casey-Westfield), 6-1, 6-1

M. Mossman-Tegeler (St. Anthony) defeated Tabbert-Habing (Teutopolis), 6-3, 6-2

Rudibaugh-E. Mossman (St. Anthony) defeated Kocher-Weidner (Olney), 6-4, 6-1

I. Street-B. Street (Newton) defeated Gocey-Pietz (Flora), 6-1, 6-2


M. Mossman-Tegeler (St. Anthony) defeated Derome-Doll (Olney), 7-6 (3), 6-3

I. Street-B. Street (Newton) defeated Rudibaugh-E. Mossman (St. Anthony), 5-7, 6-4, 6-3


I. Street-B. Street (Newton) defeated M. Mossman-Tegeler (St. Anthony), 6-3, 6-3

Third Place

Derome-Doll (Olney) defeated Ruidibaugh-M. Mossman (St. Anthony), 3-6, 6-3, 6-1

Ben and Isaac Street from Newton won the doubles championship.

St. Anthony's Evan Mossmn and Adam Rudibaugh finished fourth in doubles.

St. Anthony's Aidan Tegeler and Manaye Mossman finished second in doubles.