Bulldogs Win Tennis Sectional; St. A, EHS, T-town Advance Individuals To State


Published on October 17 2022 9:18 am
Last Updated on October 17 2022 9:38 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham St. Anthony captured the championship of  its own Class 1A Tennis Sectional during the weekend.

The Bulldogs scored 24 points followed by Teutopolis 20, Robinson 16, Effingham 10, Mattoon 9, Mount Zion 8, Paris 7, Decatur St. Teresa 6 and Casey-Westfield 4. Charleston and Shelbyville did not score points.

Emily Kowalke won the singles followed by Annie List (Robinson), Lilly Gregary (Mattoon) and Colleen Larry (Decatur St. Teresa) in the top four.

In doubles play, T-town's Olivia Hemmen and Anna Probst combined for the championship followed by Mia Kinkelaar-Ellie Link (St. Anthony), Lily Graham-Kimber Calvert (Paris) and Aila-Jai Woomer-Izzy Volpi (Effingham).

The top four singles players and top four doubles teams advance to the Class 1A State Tournament, hosted by Buffalo Grove High School this Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Class 2A also will be competing.

Clas 1A St. Anthony Sectional


First Round

Gracie Kroenlein (Effingham) defeated Mackenzie Herlinger (Casey-Westfield), 6-0, 6-0

Angelina Henderson (Mount Zion) defeated M. Owens (Shelbyville), 6-0, 6-0

Lauren Staller (Robinson) defeated Avery Boyer (Mattoon), 6-3, 7-6 (4)

Madisn Mapes (Effingham) defeated Gadielle Velgasco (Mount Zion), 3-6, 6-2,6-2

Second Round

Emily Kowalke (St. Anthony) defeated Savanna Reed (Paris), 6-0, 6-0

Gracie Kroenlein (Effingham) defeated Christine Pschirrer (Charleston), 6-2, 6-1

Julian Hemmen (Teutopolis) defeated Angelina Henderson (Mount Zion), 6-2, 6-2

Colleen Larry (St. Teresa) defeated Lauren Staller (Robinson), 6-0, 6-0

Liv Hoene (St. Anthony) defeated Merson Barrett (Paris), 6-1, 6-0

Annie List (Robinson) defeated Madison Mapes (Effingham), 6-1, 6-1

Jada Buehnerkemper (Teutopolis) defeated Aleah Wellis (Shelbyville), 6-0, 6-2

Lily Gregory (Mattoon) defeated Maggie Goetten (Charleston), 6-0, 6-1

Third Round

Emily Kowalke (St. Anthony) defeated Gracie Kroenlein (Effingham), 6-2, 6-0

Colleen Larry (St. Teresa) defeated Julian Hemmen (Teutopolis), 6-1, 6-2

Annie List (Robinson) defeated Liv Hoene (St. Anthony), 4-6, 6-3, 6-2

Lily Gregory (Mattoon) defeated Maggie Goetten (Charleston), 6-0, 6-1


Emily Kowalke (St. Anthony) defeated Colleen Larry (St. Teresa), 6-1, 6-3

Annie List (Robinson) defeated Lily Gregory (Mattoon), 6-3, 6-2


Emily Kowalke (St. Anthony) defeated Annie List (Robinson), 6-2, 6-4


Ellie Shull-Lucy Moore (Casey-Westfield) defeated Allison Bradford-Audrey Bradford (Mount Zion), 6-0, 6-2

Madelyn Brown-Laura Schmidt (St. Anthony) defeated Gracie Willingham-Kam Lathrop (Mattoon), 6-2, 6-3

Grace Gower-Sydney Harmon (Robinson) defeated Maci Mayhall-Kailee Gough (Charleston), 6-1, 6-3

Regan Shumway-Lanie Butler (Mattoon) defeated Claire Maschino-Lily Smittkamp (Paris), 4-6, 6-3, 7-5

Josie Drees-Lauren Heuerman (Teutopolis) defeated Tessa Ashley-Kaylie Hutton (Charleston), 6-0, 6-0

Second Round

Olivia Hemmen-Anna Probst (Teutopolis) defeated T. Koehler-L Kirkbride (Shelbyville), 6-0, 6-0

E. Shull-L. Moore (Casey-Westfield) defeated Ella Seaman-Kaitlyn Parker (Effingham), 6-4, 5-7, 6-3

Al. Bradford-Au. Bradford (Mount Zion) defeated M. Brown-O. Schmidt (St. Anthony), 7-5, 6-2

L. Graham-K. Calvert (Paris) defeated G. Gower-S. Harmon (Robinson), 6-1, 7-6 (5)

K. Schnieppel-M. Koester (Mount Zion) defeated R. Shumway-L. Butler (Mattoon), 7-6, 1-6, 6-3

Aila Woomer-Izzy Volpi (Effingham) defeated J. Drees-L. Heuerman (TT), 7-6 (5), 3-6, 6-3

L. Hevron-A. Hargrave (Robinson) defeated T. Ringo-G. Nieddu (Casey-Westfield), 6-3, 6-1

Ellie Link-Mia Kinkelaar (St. Anthony) defeated V. Marri-K. Combs (St. Teresa), 6-0, 6-0

Third Round

O. Hemmen-A. Probst (Teutopolis) defeated E. Shull-L. Moore (Casey-Westfield), 6-2 6-0

L. Graham-K. Calvert (Paris) defeated Al Bradford-Au. Bradford (Mount Zion), 6-4, 6-4

A. Woomer-I. Volpi (Effingham) defeated K. Schnippel-M. Koester (Mount Zion), 3-6, 7-5 (4), 6-1

E. Link-M. Kinkelaar (St. Anthony) defeated L. Hevron-A. Hargrave (Robinson), 2-6, 6-4, 6-3


G. Hemmen-A. Probst (Teutopolis) defeated l. Graham-K. Calvert (Paris), 6-2, 6-0

E. Link-M. Kinkelaar (St. Anthony) defeated A. Woomer-I. Volpi (Effingham), 6-4, 6-0


O. Hemmen-A. Probst (Teutopolis) defeated E. Link-M. Kinkelaar (St. Anthony), 6-0, 7-5


Centralia Sectional

Newton competed in the Centralia Sectional but did not advance any players to the Class 1A State Tennis Tournament.

Olney won the sectional with 27 points followed by Flora 25, Greenville 24, Highland 12, Vandalia 6, Mascoutah 6, Newton 4, Hillsboro 4, Centralia 2 and Salem 0.