Charleston Wins Apollo, EHS Second


Published on May 13 2013 9:10 am
Last Updated on May 13 2013 9:10 am
Written by Millie Lange

Charleston edged Effingham for the championship of the Apollo Conference Boys Tennis Tournament Friday and Saturday.

The Trojans won with 24 points followed by Effingham 23, Mattoon 20.5, Mount Zion 12.5, Salem 3 and Paris 0.

In singles action, Alex Gowin of Charleston won the No. 1 spot. Effingham's Aaron Meyers took first in the second spot and Wyatt Wohltman won the No. 4 spot. Mattoon's Hiunter Levingston took first at No. 3 and Mount Zion's Cole Evans won at No. 5.

In the doubles, Effingham's Isaac Foreman and Jason Wohltman won at No. 3 while Parth Maheshwari and Jared Minor won at No. 4.

Mattoon's Jeremy Woodyard and Craig Henness were champions at No. 2 and Gabe Stoll and Blake Masse won at No. 5. Charleston's Sean Hussey and Branden Howrey were winners at No. 1.