Bulldogs' Buhnerkemper, Jansen Undefeated at Tourney; T-town Claims Doubles Title


Published on April 8 2013 8:37 am
Last Updated on April 8 2013 12:13 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham St. Anthony's Cole Buhnerkemper and Frank Jansen had a great day Saturday at the Troy Triad Tennis Invitational, going undefeated.

In Buehnerkemper's first round of play, he defeated South Elgin's Andee Norasath, 6-3, 5-7, (10-7).

"This was a good win for Buehnerkemper because Norasath won three rounds at the 2012 state tournament and is one of the state's top players," said St. Anthony Coach Joe Reynolds.

In round two, Buehnerkemper defeated Jerseyville's Davids 6-0, 6-0 and Lincoln Way Central's Ryan Champlin and Carbondale's Cam McElheny 6-1, 6-1 and 6-1, 6-0 respect9vley in rounds three and four.

Jansen was equally impressive in the No. 2 singles postiion. Jansen's mental toughness paid off in his first round defeating South Elgin's Teddy Lazopoulous 6-1, 5-7, (10-6). He maintained his mental toughness against Jerseyville's Watson 6-3, 6-2, Lincoln Way Central's Matt Weiss 6-1, 6-1 and Carbondale's Roger Jones 6-0, 6-3.

Scott Rentfrow and Jay Niebrugge played in St. Anthony's No. 1 doubles competition with one win and two 7-5, 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 losses.

St. Anthony Scores

South Elgin 3, St. Anthony 2

Jerseyville 3, St. Anthony 2

St. Anthony 4, Lincoln Way Central 1

Carbondale 3, St. Anthony 2


Flora Frog Island Doubles

Teutopolis captured first place in the Flora Frog Island Doubles Tournament with a 9-3 record followed by Olney 9-3, Marion 5-7 and Flora 1-11. T-town won over Flora with 55 games lost while Flora had 72 games lost.

"This was really a fun match for us and we finally had some nice weather," said T-town Coach Kaye Kimpling. "Our doubles teams competed well as we were neck and neck with Olney all day. We tied them in the number of matches won so the tiebreaker was least games lost. When we won, we won big and when we lost we took them to the limit. We excelled in that category. it was truly a team effort to take the trophy and our team was up to it."

Frog Island Doubles

No. 1 Doubles -- Kyle Brumleve-Ryan Westendorf (Teutopolis)

Lost to Alex Byrne-Ben Fox (Marion), 6-2, 4-6, third set tiebreaker 10-6

Defeated Blake Gocey-Blake Shehorn (Flora), 6-0, 7-5

Lost to Nick Kuhl-Levi Weiler (Olney), 6-4, 6-4

No. 2 Doubles -- Andy Mersman-Keith Weber (Teutopolis) Second Place

Defeated Connor Phelps/Daniel Robinson (Marion), 6-2, 6-1

Defeated Daniel Pieplow-Trevin Milner (Flora), 7-6 (4), 6-2

Lost to Derek Walker-Andrew Garrett (Olney), 6-3, 1-6, third set tiebreaker 10-6

No. 2 Doubles -- Jay Funneman-Karson Pruemer (Teutopolis), First Place

Defeated Joseph Baxter-Jake Rwin (Marion), 6-2, 6-2

Defeated Danny Li-Michael Suntrup (Flora), 6-1, 6-1

Defeated Cameron Pearcy-Austin Urfer (Olney), 6-1, 6-4

No. 4 Doubles -- Matt Grunloh-Mitch Meinhart (Teutopolis), First Place

Defeated Logan Bennett-Tommy Wilson (Marion), 6-0, 6-1

Defeated Malachi Raley-Trevor Gindlesberger (Flora), 6-0, 6-0

Defeated Sterling Hostetter-Andrew Steber (Olney), 6-0, 6-0


Troy Triad Invitational

The Effingham High School boys tennis team finished seventh at the Triad Invitational Duals Tournament Saturday. The Hearts went 2-2 in their matches.

"I saw great mental toughness out of our team today evidenced by winning numerous close matches," said Coach Brumleve. "The competition was fantastic and that's why we play this tournament. All of the guys played their best tennis of the year, but stitll have room for improvement."

Troy Invitational

No. 1 Match

Effingham 4, Springfield Sacred Heart-Griffin 1

A. Oreshkov (SHG) defeated Aaron Meyers (E), 6-4, 6-2

Jake Heuerman (E) defeated P. Yu (SHG), 7-6 (4), 5-7 (10-8)

Isaac Foreman-Jason Wohltman (E) defeated M. Mosley-A. Simko (SHG), 6-4, 6-3

Wyatt Wohltman-Jared Minor (E) defeated P. Flattery-A. Gonzalez (SHG), 6-4, 6-2

Parth Maheshwari-Nick Pellman (E) defeated C. Luker-E. O'Connor (SHG), 6-2, 6-0

Match 2

Triad 5, Effingham 0

Dylan Faulkenberg (T) defeated Meyers (E), 6-1, 6-1

Jake Bennett (T) defeated Heuerman (E), 6-0, 6-1

Nick Luttrell-Ben Lopatin (T) defeated Foreman-Wohltman (E), 2-6, 6-1 (10-8)

Connor Melton-Caleb Fagan (T) defeated Wohltman-Minor (E), 6-1, 7-5

Jon Thompson-Grant Unger (T) defeated Maheshwari-Pellman (E), 6-2, 6-2

Match 3

South Elgin 4, Effingham 1

Andre Norasith (SE) defeated Meyers (E), 6-1, 6-1

Teddy Lazoposlar (SE) defeated Pellman (E), 6-4, 6-1

Francis Minzeno-Aagush Patel (SE) defeated Foreman-Wohltman (E), 6-2, 6-4

Randy Felker-Sig Sunsarath (SE) defeated Wohltman-Minor (E), 7-5, 6-3

Maheshwari-Heuerman (E) defeated Jesse  Benbrook-Mohommad Zamir (SE), 7-5, 6-1

Match 4

Effingham 3, CBC 2

Pat Meyers (CBC) defeated Meyers (E), 6-3, 7-5

Heuerman (E) defeated Daniel Wolf (CBC), 1-6, 7-5 (13-11)

Alex Pozo-Mike Trary (CBC) defeated Foreman-Wohltman (E), 6-1, 6-1

Max Leach-Erik Hanson (E) defeated Minor-Wohltman (E), 6-7 (3) 7-6 (5) (10-7)

Pellman-Maheshwari (E) defeated Miguel Garchinhina-Grant Vogel (CBC), 6-0, 4-6 (10-7)