St. A Heads To State, EHS, T-town Individuals Advance In Boys Golf


Published on October 3 2023 8:40 am
Last Updated on October 3 2023 9:30 am
Written by Millie Lange

WATERLOO -- Effingham St. Anthony captured second place, one shot behind team champion Litchfield, in the Class 1A Waterloo Gibault Catholic Boys Golf Sectional Monday.

Scoring for the Bulldogs were Joey Trupiano 42-35 -- 77, Dakota Flaig 37-41 -- 78, Ryan Schmidt 38-40 -- 78 and Lane Ludwig 36-43 -- 79, Non-counters were Preston Phillips 46-41 -- 87 and Charlie Wegman 45-42 -- 87.

Litchfield won with 311 strokes followed by St. Anthony 312, Trico 314, Marquette Catholic 316, Teutopolis 317, Breese Mater Dei 321, Nashville 325, Metro-East Lutheran 329, Gibault Catholic 330, Hamilton County 334, Waltonville 366 and Zeigler-Royalton-Christopher 373.

Medalist was Parker Boehne of Centralia Christ Our Rock Lutheran with a 71. Conner McCall (Vandalia) placed second, also with a 71.

The top three teams advance to State and those included Litchfield, St. Anthony and Trico.

The top 10 individuals, not members of qualifying teams, also advance. T-town's Isaac Weber shot a 73 to finish in fourth place and advances to State. Others qualifying were Parker Boehne (Centralia Christ Our Rock Lutheran), Conner McCall (Vandalia), Andon Atwood (Cisne), Parker Renken (Nashville), James Pillers (Sparta), Landon Travelstead (Pinckneyville), Avery Gardner (Fairfield), Owen Moss (Breese Mater Dei) and Carson Tribout (Althoff Catholic).

Others competing for Teutopolis were Coen Pennington 78, Brody Thoele 83, Hayden Jansen 83, Ethan Thoele 86 and Kole Ohnesorge 89.

Newton High School had two golfers competing but neither advanced. Michael Kennedy shot an 84 and Grant Fulton a 98.


Class 2A Mount Carmel Sectional

It was a battle royal for the final advancing spot in the Class 2A Mount Carmel Sectional Monday.

Effingham High School finished only five shots out of that qualifying spot and actually took eighth place.

Benton won with 288 followed by Mattoon 302, Charleston 309, Breese Central 310, Columbia 311, Mascoutah 312, Massac County 313, Effingham 314, Anna-Jonesboro 317, Waverly 324, Staunton 331 and Bethalto Civic Memorial 366.

Effingham's Max Seachrist advanced as an individual with a 72. Also competing for the Hearts were Jude Traub with a 78, Evan Pryor with a 79, Cannon Bockhorn with an 85, Leo Wyckoff with an 89 and Rayden Schneider with a 95.

"It was a real dogfight for the final spot with five teams including us, within a couple strokes of each other," said EHS Coach Jeff Schafer. "We had some real bright spots today. First of all congrats to Max who advanced with a 72. He really fought, starting out three-over-par on the first four holes and then hanging in there and playing the last 14 holes two-under-par. Just some incredible golf.

"Senior Evan Pryor had one of his best high school rounds with a 79. So happy for how he ended his last two matches. Jude Traub played really well also, shooting a 78. He had one bad hole, but played some great golf today. He has done an incredible job for us playing the No. 2 spot behind Max. Those two have been so consistent all year.

"Cannon Bockhorn was our final counting score with an 85. Leo had a tough day as he didn't feel well and tried to tough it out and Rayden had a tough stretch towards the end.

"As a team, we had a great year. The Apollo Conference had some great boys golf played this year. We finshed fifth in the conference and came close to going to State. Congrats to Apollo Conference rivals Mattoon and Charleston for qualifying and representing our conference.

"Max will be playing Friday at the Weibring Golf Club. Tee time will be announced soon."

Other individuals qualifying were Jacob Florek (Mascoutah), Konnor Kueper (Breese Central), Jairen Stroud (Salem), Reese Glover (Richland County), Aidan McFadden (Anna-Jonesboro) 73, Logan Smith (Waverly) 73, Jack Harre (Marion) 74, Nathan Rich (Robinson) 74 and Jacob Hall (Columbia) 74.

Those advancing will be competing Friday and Saturday at Weibring Golf Club in Normal.

Effingham's Max Seachrist Advances To State.


Class 1A Auburn Sectional

Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg competed in the Auburn Sectional Monday.

Quincy Notre Dame won with 319 strokes followed by Bloomington Central Catholic 321, Rushville-Industry 329,  Pittsfield 340, LeRoy 347, Pleasant Plains 349, Illini West 350, Delavan 354, Windsor/Stew-Stras 354 Routt Catholic 372, Cuba 376 and North  Mac 388.

Quincy Notre Dame's Beau Eftink was medalist with a 72, four strokes better than the second place finisher.

Competing for Windsor/Stew-Stras were Nathaniel Gracey with an 82, Rylan Rincker with an 82, Jacob Vonderheide with a 90, Briar Smith with a 100, Ross McCormick with a 105 and Clayton Carey with a 108.

The top three teams advance and those included Quincy Notre Dame, Bloomington Central Catholic and Rushville-Industry.

Also advancing were the top 10 individuals not members of qualifying teams and those included  Anderson Thielen (Pleasant Plains), Nick Bruns (Illini West), Rioth Wort (Mount Sterling Brown County) 80, A.J. Charpentier (Routt Catholic) 81, Aden Frese (Payson Seynour) 81, Brett Bushue (Sullivan), Colby Robertson (Illini West), Crew Fortin (Illini  Bluffs), Isaac McGlauchlen (Pittsfield) and Brayson Smeltser (Hamilton West Hancock).