Florida State Wins BCS Championship


Published on January 7 2014 7:09 am
Last Updated on January 7 2014 7:09 am
Written by Millie Lange

Florida State Wins Thrilling BCS Championship Game

(Pasadena, CA) -- Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston hit Kelvin Benjamin on a two-yard touchdown pass with 13 seconds to play as top-ranked Florida State knocked off number-two Auburn 34-31 in the final BCS Championship Game at the Rose Bowl.

The final five minutes featured three lead changes, led by Levonte Whitfield's 100-yard kickoff return for a touchdown which gave FSU a 27-24 lead. Auburn's Tre Mason countered with a 37-yard touchdown run with just over a minute to play, giving the Tigers a 31-27 lead. Winston finished 20-of-35 for 237 yards and two touchdowns for the Seminoles, who won their third national championship and first since 1999.

Rashad Greene had nine catches for 147 yards for FSU, which also ended a seven-year run of BCS titles won by the SEC. Mason ran for 195 yards with the TD for the Tigers while quarterback Nick Marshall finished with 230 passing yards with two touchdowns and an interception. Marshall also ran for 45 yards and a score as Auburn was seeking a second national title in four years. The College Football Playoff begins next year.