Silva, Whitaker Earn Letters at Millikin


Published on December 19 2012 9:12 am
Last Updated on December 19 2012 9:12 am
Written by Millie Lange

DECATUR -- Millikin University’s football team has named its 2012 varsity letter and award winners.

The team also named its award winners for the 2012 campaign.
Senior quarterback Matt Holmes (Wheeling, H.S.) was named the team’s Most Valuable Offensive Player while senior Marquette Moore (Mt. Vernon,H.S.) earned the Most Valuable Defensive Player Award.  Returner Erik Tobey (Herscher, H.S.) earned the Most Valuable Special Teams Player Award.

Wide receiver Sean Maloney (Downers Grove, Nazareth Academy) and linebacker Tim Yuenger (Maroa, Maroa Forsyth H.S.) shared the Most Valuable Freshman Award.

Freshman running back Tyler Hubert (Evansville, Red Bud H.S.) was the Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year and linebacker Dillon Haase (Minooka, H.S.) was the Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year.

Effingham High School graduates Christian Silva, senior defensive back, earned a letter as did junior lineman Eric Whitaker.