Area Runners Compete At State C.C. Meets


Published on November 7 2022 7:16 am
Last Updated on November 7 2022 7:16 am
Written by Millie Lange

PEORIA -- Two boys teams and two individual girls competed in the Class A and Class AA State Cross Country Meets Saturday at Detwiller Park in Peoria.

Individually, Effingham High School's Jessica Larsen finished 67th in the Class AA State Meet out of 234 runners. She finished with a time of 19:37.85.

Winning the meet was Olney's Tatum David with a time of 17:05.06. Grayslake Central won the team championship with 106 points.

In the Class A meet, Newton High School's Layna Marshall finished 46th out of 258 runners with a time of 19:09.46.

Winning the meet was Mabry Bruhn of Monticello in 17:08.43.  Tolono Unity was the team champion with 84 points.

The Newton boys squad took 19th while Effingham St. Anthony finished 20th in the Class 1A Meet. Newton had 484 points and St. Anthony 507. Winning the team title was Chicago DePaul College Prep with 113.

Competing for Newton were 55. Clay Bergbower, 16:40.04; 126. Luke Weber, 17:20.08; 156. Owen Mahaffey, 17:34.22; 161. Nick Shamhart, 17:42.63; 173. Brock Probst, 17:48.72; 192. Luis Zavala, 18:00.34; 220. Ben Street, 18:30.59.

Competing for St. Anthony were 54. Griffen Elder, 16:39.48; 121. Julius Ramos, 17:17.42; 149. Conlan Walsh, 17:29.48; 168. Giovanni Bucio, 17:45.37; 201. Aidan Braunecker, 18:12.53; 223. Noah Flaig, 18:35.50; 251. Vincent Vogel, 19:55.51.

Winning the individual championship was Gavin Genisio of Benton in 14:57.51.