Effingham's Jessica Larsen Headed To State


Published on October 31 2022 7:05 am
Last Updated on October 31 2022 8:33 am
Written by Millie Lange

CHATHAM -- Effingham High School's Jessica Larsen will be heading to the Class 2A State Cross Country Meet after competing in the Chatham Glenwood Sectional Saturday.


The Hearts finished eighth, just one place away from qualifying as a team, Normal Community West won the meet with 87 points followed by Chatham Glenwood 91, Rochester 93, Mount Zion 126, Waterloo 135, Springfield 149, Normal University 166, Effingham 201, Troy Triad 281, Olney 310, Champaign Central 311, Mahomet-Seymour 320, Highland 323, Champaign Centennial 348, Mascoutah 364, Bethalto Civic Memorial 369, Centralia 448 and Urbana 475.

The top seven teams and the top 10 runners, not members of those teams, advance to State.

Tatum David of Olney won the meet with a time of 16:43.50.

Effingham's Jessica Larsen finished 15th in 18:31.70. She advanced as one of the top 10 runners.

Other EHS runners were Audrey Wagoner 36th in 19:20.90, Haddie Hill 45th in 19:38.90, Baylee Summers 55th in 19:52.70, Morgan Springer 79th in 20:33.20, Allison Miller 11th in 21:48.80 and Laney Myers 132nd in 23;12.10.

In the boys race Marion won with 99 points followed by Mount Zion 110, Champaign Central 113, Chatham Glenwood 147, Normal Community West 183, Bethalto Civic Memorial 210, Mount Vernon 211, Highland 217, Waterloo 220, Troy Triad 238, Lincoln 257, Carbondale 257, Mahomet-Seymour 273, Effingham 312, Taylorville 326, Urbana 332, Springfield 412 and Rantoul 420.

Marion's Dylon Nalley won the meet with a time of 14:06.30.

Effingham did not advance any team members.

Andrew Donaldson finished 27th for the Hearts in 16:01.10 followed by Garrett Wagoner 29th in 16:05.80, Alex Gordon 67th in 16:41.80, Aaron Hill 113th in 17:44.30, Adam Flack 114th in 17:44.40, Evan Klingler 135th in 19:00.70 and Payton Bushue 141st in 20:58.80.

The Class 2A State Meet is scheduled for Saturday, November 5 at Detweiller Park in Peoria with the girls race at 11 a.m. and the boys race at noon. Awards will be at 1 p.m.