Cross Country Runners Headed to Sectionals Saturday


Published on October 27 2022 10:16 am
Last Updated on October 27 2022 10:21 am
Written by Millie Lange

There are numerous area runners headed to sectional competition Saturday in cross country.

Most of the area runners will be competing at the Class 1A St. Joseph-Ogden Sectional. The girls race begins at 10 a.m. and the boys race at 11 a.m.

Going as teams for the boys are Effingham St. Anthony, Dieterich, Cumberland and Newton.

Competing for St. Anthony are Griffen Elder, Julius Ramos, Conlan Walsh, Aidan Braunecker, Giovanni Bucio, Oliver Kreke and Noah Flaig.

Running for Dieterich will be Jack Bloemer, Trevor Crutcher, Gabe Jackson, Cole Will, Kaden Einhorn, Trevor Niemerg and Tanner Niemerg.

Newton runners include Clay Bergbower, Luke Weber, Nick Shamhart, Brock Probst, Luis Zavala, Ben Street and Owen Mahaffey.

Cumberland's competitors are Riley Morgan, Kaleb Bierman, Hank Warfel, Zack Buescher, Michael Beamont, Jack Pruemer and Damon Ryan.

Individual runners are Hayden Summers (Altamont), August Cosart (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City) and Owen Ayers (North Clay).

In the girls meet, St. Anthony, Dieterich, Neoga and Newton are sending teams.

Members of the Bulldogs are Stacie Vonderheide, Emma Helmink, Ava Faber, Taylor Miller, Grace Niebrugge, Maddy Hodge and Riley Willenborg.

Dieterich runners are Ella Kreke, Marli Michl, Adriana Gordon, Ruby Westendorf, Cortney Brummer, Makenna French and Frances Verdeyen.

Competing for Neoga are Lexie Fletcher, Aundrea Nebel, Addison Mast, Annie Clark, Natalie Beaumont, Abbie Becker and Atalie Osborn.

Newton runners are Layna Marshall, Alexis Hetzer, Natalie Kistner, Ella Radke, Shay Bennett, Lily Yager and Taylor Slough.

Brooke Koelm from North Clay also will be competing.

The top six teams and the first 10 runners, not members of those teams, will advance to the Class 1A State Meet scheduled for Saturday, November 5 at Detweiller Park in Peoria. The girls race is set for 9 a.m. with the boys race at 10.

Effingham will be sending both its boys and girls teams to the Class 2A Chatham Glenwood Sectional. The girls race is at 11 a.m. and the boys race at noon.

Competing for the boys will be Garrett Wagoner, Andrew Donaldson, Alex Gordon, Aaron Hill, Adam Flack, Evan Klingler and Payton Bushue.

Running for the girls squad are Jessica Larsen, Haddie Hill, Baylee Summers, Audrey Wagoner, Morgan Springer, Allison Miller and Laney Myers.

Advancing from the Class 2A Sectional will be the first seven teams and the first 10 runners not members of those teams. Those qualifying will advance to the Class 2A State Meet Saturday, November 5 at Detweiler Park in Peoria. The 2A girls compete at 11 a.m. with the 2A boys scheduled for noon.