EHS Basketball Players, Cheer, Pom Pon Awards Presented


Published on April 22 2024 2:00 pm
Last Updated on April 22 2024 2:12 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Winning EHS basketball awards were, left to right, Hayden Wendling, Nolan Fearday, Wade Bushur, Ethan Jones, Spencer Fox, K.J. Kellams and Cannon Bockhorn.

Effingham High School held its banquet for boys basketball, cheer and Pom Pon special award winners and letter winners.

EHS boys basketball award winners were Wade Bushur for Defensive Player of the Year, Rebounding award and Outstanding Sophomore, Cannon Bockhorn for Offensive Player of the Year and Highest Free Throw Percentage, KJ Kellams for Offensive Player of the Year, Nolan Fearday for Defensive Player of the Year, Hayden Wendling for Most Improved, Ethan Jones won the Toughness award and Spencer Fox claimed the Leadership award.

Lettermen were Nolan Fearday, Brady McDaniel, Wade Bushur, Cannon Bockhorn, Jake Niebrugge, KJ Kellams, Hayden Wendling, Ethan Jones, Max Buzzard, Adam Flack, Will Moser, Spencer Fox, Cole Phillips and Rylan Pals.

Winning freshman/sophomore basketball awards were Jake Niebrugge for Offensive Most Valuable Player, Gio Santillan for Defensive Most Valuable Player, Gage Kinder for

Most Improved and Jacob Warner claimed the Toughness award.

Effingham Pom Pon award winners were Finley Pals for Team Captain and Top Technique award, Addysen Stortzum for Rookie of the Year and Reese Wendling for Up-and-Coming Leader.

The Pom Pon squad included Finlay Pals, Addysen Stortzum, Reese Wendling, Makenna Mayhood, Jenna Simmons, Allison Shaffer and Amelia Clark.

Winning awards for Cheerleading were Ella Tuman for Most Outstanding, Adalyn Hemrich for Most Dedicated, Sarah Hirtzel for Most Improved, Masey Mifflin for Heart of the Team and Lyndi Davis for Work Hard.

Most Outstanding Game Day went to Brianna Alwardt, Most Dedicated Game Day was claimed by Makenna Duckwitz. Abbie Cochran won the Most Improved Game Day, Shelby Bowlin the Hearts of the Team Game Day and Jocelyn Carrillo for Work Hard Game Day.

EHS Cheerleaders were Brianna Alwardt, Abbie Cochran, Makenna Duckwitz, Addison Holste, Shelby Bowlin, Rylee Brown, Sarah Hirtzel, Lenzie Merriman, Lyndi Davis, Cora Hartmann, Adalyn Hemrich, Elizabeth Hirtzel, Massey Mifflin, Ella Tuman, Jocelyn Carrillo, Kylie Harminson, Addelyn Kirgan and Ryann Levin..

Winning awards for freshman/sophomore boys basketball were, left to right, Jake Niebrugge, Jacob Warner and Gage Kinder.

Winning cheer awards were, left to right, Brianna Alwardt, Shelby Bowlin, Makenna Duckwitz, Lyndi Davis, Sarah Hirtzel, Masey Mifflin, Adalyn Hemrich, Ella Tuman and Jocelyn Carrillo.

Winning Pom Pon awards were, left to right, Reese Wendling, Finley Pals and Addysen Stortzum.