Several Local Players Named to All-Area Boys BB Teams


Published on April 13 2020 7:52 am
Last Updated on April 13 2020 7:57 am
Written by Millie Lange

Several area boys basketball players were named to the Decatur Herald & Review All-Area Basketball teams.

Named to the Second Team were Jaccob Dust, a senior from St. Anthony and Parker Wolfe, a junior from Effingham.

Dust scored in double figures in every game for the Bulldogs. He averaged 18.8 points and 11.1 rebounds as he helped the Bulldogs to a regional title and into the sectional championship.

Wolfe, a guard, guided the Hearts to a 19-13 record. He averaged 21.3 points and 4.3 rebounds while shooting 40 percent on three-pointers. He had a season high 40 points against Mahomet-Seymour and was one of the top scorers in the Apollo Conference.

Other members of the Second Team were Noah Livingston (junior guard, Casey-Westfield), Jacob Paradee (senior guard, Central A&M) and Carter Sabol (senior forward, Nokomis).

Two area players were named to the Third Team and those included Altamont senior guard Aidan Jahraus and Newton senior forward Kyle Schafer. Other Third Team members were Cameron Sharp (senior guard, Okaw Valley), Andrew Ambrose (junior forward, Pana) and Brendan Flanagan (junior guard, Olney).

Named to the First Team were Connor Heaton (senior guard, Central A&M), Griffin Andricks (senior forward, Central A&M), Jalen Quinn (sophomore guard, Tuscola), Jase Bergschneider (senior guard, Taylorville) and Kaden Froebe (senior guard, Lincoln).

Named the Coach of the Year was Lincoln's Neil Alexander who guided his team to a 32-2 season. But the season ended abruptly because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Railers were set to play Springfield Lanphier in a Class 3A sectional championship. He is third in most coaching wins in Illinois High School Association history with 832.

Named the Area Player of the Year was Moweaqua Central A&M's Connor Heaton. The senior guard is the Area Player of the Year for the second time in three years and has committed tp play basketball at Illinois Wesleyan University. He averaged 21.6 points a game, 8.7 rebounds, four assists and 3.4 steals. He shot 59.4 percent on two-point attempts.

Area players who were named Honorable Mention included:

Logan Antrim (junior guard, St. Anthony), Jacob Baron (senior, St. Elmo/Brownstown), Hunter Brandt (senior forward, South Central), Brennyn Cutts (junior foward, Cumberland), Kaden Eirhart (junior guard, Altamont), Luke Fleener (senior, North Clay), Andy Goldsborough (senior,  St. Elmo/Brownstown), Mitch Hardiek (senior, Teutopolis), Collin Hartke (Dieterich), Ross Hemmen (junior forward, Cumberland), Jack Hoene (senior guard, St. Anthony), Tyson Jones (senior, North Clay), Derek Kuhl (Dieterich), Daniel Lucas (sophomore forward, Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Paci McClure (sophomore guard, Neoga), Cole Niebrugge (Dieterich), Trevor Roy (senior guard, Neoga), Nate Thompson (junior forward, Effingham), Gavin Wernsing (sophomore, Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg), Evan Wermert (junior, Teutopolis) and Keenin Willshire (sophomore forward, South Centra).