Casey-Westfield Downs Newton to Win LIC Tournament Championship; Other Friday Night Scores


Published on January 26 2013 8:52 am
Last Updated on January 26 2013 9:49 am
Written by Greg Sapp

The Casey-Westfield Warriors defeated the Newton Eagles 74-61 Friday night to the Little Illini Conference Tournament championship.

Casey-Westfield, playing at home, burst out of the gate to take a 17-7 lead after one quarter and were never headed.  The Warriors led 34-23 at halftime and 50-40 after three quarters before outscoring the Eagles 24-21 in the final period.

Newton hit on 19 of 45 two-point shots and four of 11 on three-point tries and made 11 of 16 foul shots.  Casey-Westfield hit 71% of its two-point shots, 25 of 35 and went five of 15 on three-point tries.

Luke Stone led Newton with 19 points, while Dylan Davidson and Keith Butler each scored 12 points.



North Clay 81, Grayville 43 (for North Clay, Logan Hilderbrand 18, Nate Micklautz 17, Lawson Britton and Garrett Rubsam eight each, Dylan Walker and Brantly Griffy six each, Adam Cox five, Kody VanDyke and Ethan Young four each, Cody Yoho three and Boyd Rinehart two; North Clay won the JV game 50-43)

Shelbyville 61, Clinton 34

Carlyle 74, Pana 54

Springfield 51, Taylorville 32

Mattoon 61, Mt. Zion 43 (Mt. Zion's second Apollo Conference loss, pushing them two games behind Effingham in the conference race)


Effingham 67, Carlyle 47 (for Effingham: Wolfe 26, Donaldson 20, Beals 11, Kreke 6, Franklin 2, Osborn 2; Wolfe three steals and six rebounds; Donaldson six blocked shots and 12 rebounds; Effingham shot 54% from the field; Effingham 8th graders now 20-1 and ready for regional action Monday)


Pana 2,215 St. Anthony 1,617 (for St. Anthony--Kassy Dammerman 459, Natalie Goeckner 304, Hayley Koester 293, Raven Rincker and Jade Koester 202 each, Erin Goeckner 157; season ending match for St. Anthony in their inaugural season)


(8th Grade) Dieterich over Windsor 26-24, 25-20

(7th Grade) Windsor over Dieterich 25-17, 25-21


(At the Vandalia Tournament) Pana 50, St. Elmo/Brownstown 35 (for St. Elmo/Brownstown--Kroll 12, Austin, Feezel and Logue six each, Miller three, Powell two)