Area Players To Compete at IBCA All-Star Games


Published on June 4 2018 7:07 am
Last Updated on June 4 2018 7:07 am
Written by Millie Lange

Several area players will be competing at the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Annual All-Star games.

The games will be held Saturday, June 9 at the Pontiac Community High School. Game times are:

Class 1A-2A South girls vs. Class 1A-2A North girls, noon

Class 3A-4A South girls vs. Class 3A-4A North girls, 2 p.m.

Class 1A-2A South boys vs. Class 1A-2A North boys, 4 p.m.

Class 3A-4A South boys vs. Class 3A-4A North boys, 6 p.m.

Admission for all four games is $5.

Effingham St. Anthony's Alex Deters is a member of the Class1A-2A South All-Stars while Altamont's Mitchell Stevenson is a member of the Class 1A-2A North All-Stars.

In the girls games, Teutopolis' Macy Michels is a member of the Class1A-2A South All-Stars.

Coaches are:

Girls -- Class 1A-2A South -- Doug Altoff (Nashville), Class 1A-2A North -- Brian Holman (Spring Valley Hall), Class 3A-4A South -- Jeff Miller (Charleston), Class 3A-4A North -- Ashley Clanton (Chicago Mother McAuley)

Boys -- Class 1A-2A South -- Brian Brooks (St. Joseph-Ogden), Class 1A-2A North -- Will Rey (Northridge Prep), Class 3A-4A South -- Chad Benedict (Mahomet-Seymour), Class 3A-4A North -- Jeff Powers (Naperville North).

Former IBCA All-Star participants include the Miami Heat NBA Finals MVP Dwayne Wade (Oak Lawn Richards), the Golden State Warriors Andre Iguodala (Springfield Lanphier) and Shaun Livingston (Peoria Central), the Toronto  Raptors Fred Van Vleet (Rockford-Auburn) and the Portland Trailblazers Evan Turner (Westchester St. Joseph).