EHS Girls Honored at Basketball Awards Banquet


Published on March 5 2018 7:09 am
Last Updated on March 5 2018 7:09 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham High School varsity girls basketball award winners are, left to right, Abby Weis, Skyler Schafer, Miranda Fox, Shelby Myers, Natalie Carie, Aly Armstrong, Bria Barr and Carsyn Fearday.

Effingham High School girls were honored in basketball with an awards ceremony and banquet Saturday night at the Hearts Rock Cafe.

Carsyn Fearday claimed five awards on the evening. Fearday won the highest free throw percentage with 75.6 percent, the hustle award, was team captain and won the Most Valuable Player award along with the Miss Basketball award.

MIranda Fox picked up four awards. She was captain along with being the assist leader with 113, Best Defensive Player and Hustle award.

Shelby Myers was the rebound leader with 148 and claimed the blocks leader award with 39.

Aly Armstrong was one of the team captains  and won the three point field goal award with 56.

Natalie Carie was the steals leader with 73 and won the Most Improved award.

Bria Barr won the Heart of the Team award.  Abby Weis was named Best Defensive Player. Skyler Schafer won the Max  Wolfe Sportsmanship award.

Letterwinners were Carsyn Fearday, Skyler Schafer, Abby Weis, Natalie Carie, Aly Armstrong, Miranda Fox, Bria Barr and Shelby Myers.

Effingham High School junior varsity and freshman/sophomore girls basketball award winners were, left to right, Jessie Herboth (JV Most Improved) Nicole Schniederjon (FS Best Defense), Kiley Weaver (FS Hustle), Kiyah Kuhlman (JV Best Defense) and Taylor Armstrong (FS and JV Most Improved).

Junior varsity awards went to Taylor Armstrong for Most Improved, Jessica Herboth won the Hustle award and Kiyah Kuhlman was named Best Defensive Player.

Freshman/Sophomore awards went to Taylor Armstrong for Most Improved, Nicole Schniederjon for Best Defense and Kiley Weaver the Hustle award.