Area Players Named to Decatur H&R Baseball Teams


Published on July 7 2014 5:58 am
Last Updated on July 7 2014 5:58 am
Written by Millie Lange

The Decatur Herald & Review listed its All-Area Baseball Team. Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg's Christian Vonderheide, a senior, was named the Player of the Year. Vonderheide, a pitcher, had a .44 ERA, 107 strikeouts and posted a 9-1 record.

Other area members of the First Team were pitcher Darren Probst, a senior, from Teutopolis; infielder Tanner Traub, a senior, from Dieterich and utility player Bobby Wenthe, a senior, from Teutopolis. Other members were catcher Matt Crook, a senior, from Monticello; infielder Michael Lowery, a junior, from Mount Pulaski; infielder Bryce Pearce, a junior, from Flora; infielder Ryan Bunde, a senior, from Monticello; outfielder Nick Stokowski, a senior, from Monticello; outfielder Payton Hartbank, a junior, from Mattoon and outfielder Tyler Horchem, a senior, from Lincoln.

Second Team members were outfielder Austin Bushur, a senior, from Effingham St. Anthony; catcher Hayden Cole, a senior, from Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg; infielder Reed Hardiek, a senior, from Teutopolis; infielder Alex Allen, a senior, from Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg; utility Adam Cox, a junior, from North Clay (Louisville); pitcher Daniel Caldwell, a junior, from Monticello; pitcher Luke McConnell, a senior, from Shelbyville; infielder Peyton Hagerman, a junior, from Okaw Valley; infielder Ryan Hutchinson, a senior, from Mattoon; outfielder Colton Sroka, a senior, from Okaw Valley and utility Nick Bates, a sophomore, from Tuscola.

The Coach of the Year award went to Chris Jones of Monticello. Up to that point, Effingham, Effingham St. Anthony and Teutopolis had dominated. Chris Fleener (Effingham) was named in 2009, Justin Fleener (Teutopolis) in 2010, 2011 and 2013 and Kenny Miller (Effingham St. Anthony) in 2012

Honorable Mention for area players went to:

Effingham -- Braydon Bone (junior shortstop/pitcher), Carter Hayes (junior catcher), Preston Walker (senior pitcher)

Effingham St. Anthony -- Eli Dasenbrock (senioro catcher), Zach Gardewine (junior pitcher), Neil Williams (senior infielder)

Teutopolis -- Alex Goldstein (senior catcher), Justin Kenter (senior utility), Louis Niemerg (junior infielder/pitcher), Cody Will (senior shortstop)

Altamont -- Garrett Ziegler (senior outfielder)

Neoga -- Jake Baker (senior catcher), Matt Kingery (senior utililty), Tyler Romack (senior pitcher), Guy Walk (sophomore pitcher)

Brownstown/St. Elmo -- Jacob Behrends (senior pitcher/shortstop), Levi Maxey (pitcher/shortstop), Dalton Parks (senior outfielder)

Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg -- Brandon Helmuth (senior infielder), Jacob Kramer (junior utility)

South Central -- Kyle Bray (senior infielder), Noah Powless (junior utility), Dylan Smith (junior infielder)

North Clay -- Lawson Britton (senior utility), Hunter Clifton (senior first base/pitcher)

Newton -- Caleb Chesnut (senior pitcher/shortstop), Lucas Huston (senior catcher), Brock Mammoser (sophomore utility), Tanner Shull (senior pitcher)

Cumberland -- Blayke Cutts (sophomore pitcher), Holden Elwood (senior catcher)