Federal Reimbursement Would Help Nine Counties Recover Many Disaster-Related Costs


Published on December 20 2013 1:58 pm
Last Updated on December 20 2013 1:58 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Governor Pat Quinn has requested federal aid to help local governments in nine Illinois counties recover from the November 17 deadly tornado outbreak.

Counties included in the request include Champaign, Douglas, Grundy, Massac, Tazewell, Vermilion, Washington, Wayne and Woodford.  If the request is approved, local governments could receive reimbursement for 75% of eligible disaster-related costs such as overtime, debris removal and repair and replacement of damaged public property.

The request included documentation of tornado-related expenses, such as emergency protective measures, debris removal and repair or replacement of government-owned facilities incurred by the nine counties.

The request also noted other impacts from the tornadoes, including winter weather conditions that will delay debris cleanup and rebuilding, affected communities still dealing with costs related to flood events in April and in April 2011 and public property losses that may not be completely covered by insurance.

Federal aid has already been secured to help people and businesses in Fayette and Jasper counties and 13 other counties recover from the November 17 tornadoes.  To date, nearly 2,000 people in those counties have applied for assistance, with more than $1.3 million in federal grants and more than $1.5 million in low-interest loans already approved.

The deadline for people to apply for federal aid is January 27, 2014.