Fayette Added to Counties Receiving Disaster Declaration


Published on November 22 2013 10:59 am
Last Updated on December 3 2013 4:46 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Governor Pat Quinn has added Fayette County as a state disaster area.

The addition of Fayette and Vermilion counties brings to 15 the number of Illinois counties to receive designation as disaster areas.

The state disaster declaration makes available a wide variety of state resources that can help affected communities respond and recover from the storms.  The state of Illinois has personnel and assets that can be mobilized to help local government officials with disaster recovery including such things as trucks, heavy equipment to remove debris, communications equipment and assistance with security and other public safety issues.