County Board Closes Out the Fiscal Year


Published on November 29 2022 4:19 pm
Last Updated on November 29 2022 4:19 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The Effingham County Board closed the books on the fiscal year Tuesday afternoon.

For a majority of the board members, they also closed the books on their time on the Board.

Five members who did not seek another term earlier this month ended their service Tuesday. That includes Board Chairman Jim Niemann and members Joe Thoele, Rob Arnold, Heather Mumma and John Perry.

The five incoming members...Josh Douthit, Jeremy Kyle, Sandra Gillet, Jeremy Deters and Chris Keller...will begin their duties next week.

The current board approved the budget for the fiscal year that begins December 1. According to Tax and Finance Committee Chairman Arnold, the budget projects $14 more in income than outgo. The tax levy for the coming year was also passed. One change made from earlier projections is $20,000 more for the 377 Board and $20,000 less for insurance.

The Board also tabled any action on remaining federal ARPA funds, leaving the matter to the incoming board.