Neoga School Board Fills Vacancy


Published on May 21 2013 5:51 pm
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Neoga school board members have filled a vacancy on the board.

Don Strohl was appointed to the board to fill a vacancy created when not enough people ran in the April election.

The Board heard from Superintendent Chuck Castle about forming a committee for the teacher evaluation system, the state payments and insurance premiums.  A Psychology course was approved for the high school.  Carol Smith was employed as a Title I director.

Board members acknowledged the resignation of Vicky Ludwig as high school Scholar Bowl coach, the retirement notice of Wayne Monroe as bus mechanic, and the resignation of Amy Hatton as high school volleyball coach.

The Board approved the honorable dismissal of non-certified staff members Jenny Ballinger, Lori Warner and Joyce Meadows; and also authorized Castle to accept bids and a lease request for proposal for school buses.  Board members approved a grant for junior high Math textbooks for Grades 5 and 6 and part of Grade 4; heard that work on a bus turnaround at Neoga Elementary School will begin soon; and heard that Chris Strohl has volunteered to be the Neoga district's representative for the Cumberland County Development Corporation.