Board Sets Pay Rates for Elected Officials


Published on April 16 2018 6:34 pm
Last Updated on April 16 2018 6:34 pm
Written by Greg Sapp


Effingham County Board members Monday voted to set the pay rates for those to be elected to county office in November.

Board Chairman Jim Niemann said they first thought of a 5% increase the first year and then a 3% increase in each of the following three years. Niemann said their negotiating attorney then reminded of the impact that could have on the contracts with union employees. It was then decided to increase the salaries by basically the same rates as union employees will receive.

The pay rates have to be established no less than six months before those new terms begin, which is December 1, 2018. The sheriff, county clerk, county treasurer and county supervisor of assessments are the offices beginning new terms this year.

The Board also honored Joyce Roedl for 25 years' service to the County Board of Health; joined the Effingham County Chamber of Commerce for 2018; declared May 3 as Law Day 2018; amended the county employee handbook; approved a three-year agreement with Bushue Human Resources at  the same rate as the past agreement; agreed to a contribution to a hyper-reach services agrement for emergency notifications; decreased the membership of the Economic Development Advisory Board by one member to bring the membership to seven; approved agreements related to the county public transportation system; and approved three appointments, Donnye Davis as a trustee of the Watson Fire Protection District, Kyle Willenburg to the Altamont Fire Protection District, and Dan Niebrugge to the Ethics Commission.