Early Filers for School Boards (ADDING LAKE LAND TRUSTEE FILERS)


Published on December 17 2012 11:49 am
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

There were candidates at the door when the filing period for Effingham Unit 40 School Board began Monday morning.

Incumbent Galen Altman from Summit Township and challengers Steve Bone and James Keith from Douglas Township were present when the filing period began at 8am.  As a result, those three will participate in a lottery to determine who gets the top spot on the ballot.  Anyone whose petition is in the Monday morning mail would also be included in the 8am filers and would be included in the lottery. 

James Osborn from Summit Township also filed as a candidate Monday morning, but after the 8am opening.

Brian Wick and Brad Meinhart are the other incumbents whose terms are up in April.  Wick took out a petition, but Meinhart has indicated he'll not seek re-election.

In Teutopolis Unit 50, incumbent Marty Siemer was the only person to file at the start of the filing period.  Siemer is the Board President.  The other incumbents are Randy Bloemer and Carl Repking.

In Altamont Unit 10, incumbents Chad Smith and Jim Holland filed Monday morning.  Tammy Sims is the other incumbent.

In Dieterich Unit 30, incumbent Mike Winters was the only filer Monday morning.  The other incumbents are Eric Hall and Phil Aherin.

In Beecher City Unit 20, no one filed at the start of the filing period.  Darren Giles, Karen Clark and Jeff Kline are the incumbents for four-year terms, and Darren Doty is the incumbent for an unexpired two-year term.

This is also the start of the filing period for two seats on the Effingham Park Board.  No one was on hand when the filing period opened.  The seats are now held by Dennis Carie who is seeking re-election and Mike Sehy, who is not seeking another term.

This is also the beginning of the filing period for Lake Land College Board of Trustees.  Two area individuals filed for the two seats available.  One is David Storm of Effingham, who serves as Chief Financial Officer for St. Anthony's Memorial Hospital, the other is retired Dieterich School Superintendent Bruce Owen.

The filing period will conclude at 5pm on Wednesday, December 26.  Election Day is April 9.