Local Educator Among Last-Day Filers for Legislature


Published on December 5 2017 10:14 am
Last Updated on December 5 2017 10:14 am
Written by Greg Sapp

A long-time area educator was among the last-day filers for state legislature Monday, which was the filing deadline for the March 2018 primary.

David Seiler filed for the Democrat nomination for State Representative in the 107th District. In filing, Seiler said he was prompted to run by what he heard while gathering petition signatures. He said, "I heard over and over that Springfield needs a return of common sense. My life experience can help with that cause, as a native of Effingham County and with an understanding of how to find and build consensus on the difficult issues that face us."

Seiler graduated from Beecher City High School in 1983. He is a graduate of Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University, obtained a Master's Degree at Eastern and his Doctorate from Indiana State University.

Seiler taught in local schools for 12 years, one year at St. Anthony and 11 years at Effingham High School, and is currently in his 18th year teaching History at Lake Land College. He is a former chairman of the Effingham County Democrat Central Committee and was a two-term member of the Effingham Public Library Board of Directors.

Seiler grew up outside Shumway, the son of Kenny and Marian (Waldhoff) Seiler, and lives in Effingham. He and his wife Susan have three children.

Seiler unopposed for the Democrat nomination in the 107th District. Blaine Wilhour of Beecher City and Laura Myers of Greenville earlier filed for the Republican nomination. There is no incumbent in the race; John Cavaletto of Salem is not seeking re-election.

In the 109th District, a Democrat filed on Monday. She is Cynthia Given of Olney. Incumbent David Reis of Willow Hill and challenger Darren Bailey of Xenia have filed for the Republican nomination.

In the 102nd District, Republican incumbent Brad Halbrook of Shelbyville is the only person to file.

In the 54th Senate District, four Republicans have filed for the chance to succeed retiring Senator Kyle McCarter. They are George Barber of Greenville, Rafael Him of New Baden, Benjamin Stratemeyer of Centralia and Jason Plummer of Edwardsville.

In the 15th Congressional District, two Democrats have filed for the nomination and the right to oppose long-time Republican incumbent John Shimkus of Collinsville. Those two are Carl Spoerer of Mahomet and Kevin Gaither of Charleston.

At the statewide level, State Representative Jeanne Ives of Wheaton filed as the filing period was ending Monday for the Republican nomination for governor. Ives will oppose incumbent Bruce Rauner for the GOP nomination. Seven people have filed for the Democrat nomination. They are J.B. Pritzker, Chris Kennedy, Daniel Biss, Terry Getz, Bob Daiber, Tio Hardimon and Robert Marshall. Getz is from Dupo and Daiber is from Marine; the others are from the Chicago area.

At the countywide level, there were no additional filers on the final day. Those running include Republican Kerry Hirtzel, who is unopposed for a fifth term as County Clerk, Republican David Mahon, unopposed for a second term as County Sheriff, Republican Pam Braun, who is unopposed for another term as Supervisor of Assessments, and Republicans Paula G. Miller and Sheila Braun, who are seeking the nomination for County Treasurer. Incumbent Democrat Steve Dasenbrock is not seeking re-election. The four incumbents for County Board are unopposed: Republican Jim Niemann in District B, Democrat Karen Luchtefeld in District C, Republican David Campbell in District D, and Democrat Doug McCain in District G.

Here are those who filed for Precinct Committeeman in Effingham County:

Mound 1--Republican Kent Stuckey and Democrat Raymond Rogers

Mound 2--Republican Jeff Simpson

Liberty--Republican Steve Donaldson and Democrat Glen Donaldson

Mason--Republican Paul Kuhns

Jackson--Republican Ed Hoopingarner

Summit 1--Republican Jane A. Willenborg and Democrat David McEvers

Summit 3--Republican Mike DePoister

Summit 4--Republican Shirley J. Moore

Banner--Democrat Leonard Waldhoff

Watson 2--Republican Robert Arnold

Watson 3--Republican Billy G. Genaust and Democrat Linda C. Repking

Douglas 1--Democrat Daniel Niebrugge

Douglas 2--Democrat Charles Philip Lewis

Douglas 3--Republican Patricia Russell

Douglas 4--Republican Joshua Douthit

Douglas 6--Republican Phil Toops

Douglas 7--Republican James Niemann and Democrat David Seiler

Douglas 8--Republican Gary West, Sr.

Douglas 9--Republican Lisa Sudkamp

Douglas 13--Republican David Campbell

Bishop--Republican John P. Niemerg and Democrat Audrey Griffith

St. Francis--Republican Thomas A. Vahling