Filing Period for March Primary Opens


Published on November 27 2017 4:42 pm
Last Updated on November 27 2017 4:42 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The filing period opened today for those wishing to run in the March 2018 Illinois Primary Election.

In Effingham County, there is already a contest on the Republican side for County Treasurer. 

Sheila Braun and Paula G Miller both filed for the GOP nomination. Both had earlier announced their candidacies. Both are seeking to succeed retiring Democrat Steve Dasenbrock.

Republican David J. Mahon filed for a second term as County Sheriff.

Republican Kerry J. Hirtzel filed for a fifth term as County Clerk.

Democrat Douglas R. McCain filed for another term on the Effingham County Board from District G.

One Democrat filed for Precinct Committeeman; David McEvers in Summit 1.

Republicans who filed for Precinct Committeeman included Paul Kuhns in Mason Township, Gary West Sr. in Douglas 8, Ed Hoopingarner in Jackson Township, Jane Willenborg in Summit 1, and Shirley J. Moore in Summit 4.

The filing period runs through next Monday.