ISAC Announces State Scholars


Published on December 5 2012 3:53 pm
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission has announced this year's Illinois State Scholars.

To be considered for State Scholar eligibility, you must:

--Be a US citizen or an eligible non-citizen

--Be a resident of Illinois

--Attend an approved high school

--Take the ACT, SAT or Prairie State Achievement Exam between September 1 and June 30, by the end of the third semester before high school graduation

--Perform in the top half of your high school class at the end of the third quarter prior to graduation and/or score in the 95th percentile on the ACT, SAT or PSAE

--Graduate from high school during the academic year in which you were selected as a State Scholar                                                                           

Effingham County State Scholars, by school, are:

ALTAMONT COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL--Luke Armstrong, Robert Harder, Jonathan Kuhns and Lillian Wright

BEECHER CITY HIGH SCHOOL--Abby Marten and Ava Paruleski

DIETERICH HIGH SCHOOL--Amanda Flood and Candace Niemerg

EFFINGHAM HIGH SCHOOL--Elizabeth Anderson, Kathryne Bohac, Jessica Bowlin, Simon Carnahan, Vanessa Gabel, Kaitlyn Gurley, Matthew Herboth, Evan Jennings, Jeffrey Keitel, Jesse Keller, Kallie Koester, Deverick Mayfield, Shanna McIntyre, Deedra Myers, Mary Perkins, Kelli Utz and Kourtney Utz

ST. ANTHONY HIGH SCHOOL--Allison Bushue, Michael Goldstein, Jesse Haarmann, Charles Keller and Nicholas Nosbisch, Jessica Runde, Emily Schultz and Jonathan Spraul

TEUTOPOLIS HIGH SCHOOL--Holly Dust, Leah Kremer, Courtney Mersman, Daniel Nosbisch, Jonathan Ruholl, Luke Vahling, Emily Weichman, Laura Wente and Tyler Windell.