National, State Corn Yield Leaders Announced


Published on January 3 2017 10:21 am
Last Updated on January 3 2017 10:21 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Improved seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices helped corn growers achieve ever-higher yields in the National Corn Growers Association 2016 National Corn Yield Contest. A record five national entries surpassed 400 bushels per acre.

Although no overall winner gets named, Randy Dowdy of Georgia produced the highest yield in the contest with 521 bushels per acre in the no-till, strip-till irrigated category. In its 52nd year, the contest attracted 7,972 entries.

Eighteen winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 375 bushels per acre, compared with the projected national average of 175.3 bushels per acre.

Illinois winners included:

- Eric Heaton, Ohio, 313 bushels per acre, nonirrigated

- Kevin Kennedy, Walnut, 289.7 bushels per acre, no-till, strip-till nonirrigated;

- Brandon Brooks, Erie, 253 bushels per acre, no-till, strip-till irrigated

- Dan Luepkes, Chana, 315.6 bushels per acre, irrigated.

Winners receive cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop-protection companies. During the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, state and national winners will be honored. Visit for a complete list of winners.