Township Officials to Meet March 30


Published on March 22 2016 9:39 am
Last Updated on March 22 2016 9:39 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Effingham County Township Officials Association will hold a banquet on Wednesday, March 30 at the Carriage House Events Center in Altamont.

Registration is at 6:00 P.M. with the meeting starting at 6:30 P.M. The cost of the meal is $8.00 per person and will be provided by Deb’s Catering. Reservations are required by contacting Jeff Wendling at 13972 N. 500th Street, Altamont, Illinois  62411.

There are 15 townships in Effingham County:  Banner, Bishop, Douglas, Jackson, Liberty, Lucas, Mason, Moccasin, Mound, St. Francis, Summit, Teutopolis, Union, Watson, and West.

Brian Smith, executive director of Township Officials of Illinois, will be the guest speaker. He holds a B.A. degree from Millikin University and was elected as a township clerk and township supervisor before being employed at TOI. Smith will give an update on legislative issues around the state. Questions and answers will follow. Smith is a member of the Illinois Comptroller’s Local Government Advisory board and several other professional boards. He lives in Long Creek Township in Macon County.

Sean Richardson, loss control representive from Township Officials Illinois Risk Management Association, will be on hand as a resource person.