Lake Land College Pins and Welcomes 49 New Nurses to the Field


Published on June 6 2014 7:48 am
Last Updated on June 6 2014 7:52 am
Written by Wayne Moran

Lake Land College welcomed new nurses to the field at the 2014 Lake Land College associate degree in nursing pinning ceremony held Tuesday, May 27.

49 graduating nurses received their pins, including Shelby R. Overbeck of Effingham (pictured below), who received both the Marilyn Fuqua Thompson Nursing Award and the Associate Degree Nursing Peer Award.

The Marilyn Fuqua Thompson Nursing Award is given each year to a graduating student who is considered to be the all-around best student in the class. The student "must be professionally superior and morally responsible, be capable of making wise decisions, be compassionate and caring, be dedicated and possess common sense and a strong scientific knowledge base, demonstrate superior technical skills, possess superior communication skills and composure, often in crises situations."

Overbeck's name will be engraved on a plaque that is located in the nursing skills lab in Neal Hall.

The recipient of the Associate Degree Nursing Peer Award is chosen because of his or her clinical and scholastic performance, willingness to help other students, professionalism, maturity and spirit. The award is characterized by a true team player who also is considered a leader. The recipient of this award was chosen by fellow nursing students. During the ceremony, the following were honored:

Dusty Baylis of Herrick, Debra Beam of Effingham, Anita Bierman of Effingham, Penny Black of Paris, Amanda Blickensderfer of Sullivan, Dawn Brazzell of Charleston, Erica Bushue of Mattoon, Christina Carter of Greenup, Deanna Collier of Effingham, Courtney Croy of Charleston, April N. Dinger of Sullivan, Amanda Ealy of Kansas, Ryan Fisher of Mattoon, Leslie Francis of Mattoon, Chase Gillmore of Effingham, Brandi L. Hanley of Sullivan, Morgan Hays of Lovington, Richelle Hildebrand of Charleston, Brittni L. Hoel of Oakland, Michelle Homann-Kersey of Neoga, Norah Hopkins of Lovington, Kristen Jansen of Neoga, Jessica Krutsinger of Findlay, Nancy Lefever of Casey, Amanda Light Craig of Toledo, Bailey Marten of Altamont, Heather McDowell of Mattoon, Craig Minor of Effingham, Michelle "Mickey" Monts of Atwood, Kari B. Moody of Sullivan, Beverly Notaro of Oakland, Megan K. O'Brien of Charleston, Shelby R. Overbeck of Effingham, Rachel Porter of Mattoon, Tara Pruemer of Dieterich, Jennifer M. Roberts of Casey, Cynthia Schmitz of Pana, Christine Shoemaker of Effingham, Megan Smith of Effingham, Halli Smith of Pana, Candace Spence of Charleston, Jen Star of Sullivan, Krysta Tish of St. Elmo, Jennifer Tresslar of Charleston, Kimberly D. Weishaar of Effingham, Dana Westendorf of Teutopolis, Johanna Wienke of Tuscola, KoDee Wilhelms of Freeport and Danielle Will of Teutopolis.