St. Anthony High School Students Honored for Their Work During Awards Night


Published on May 5 2014 5:50 am
Written by Wayne Moran

St. Anthony High School held their Awards Night for their seniors on May 1, 2014 in the St. Anthony High School multipurpose room. The night was spent honoring the high level of academic and athletic achievement of their graduating students.

Photos from the event are located here.

Over $28,000 was awarded to the students from community donors to assist with their continued education.

The following students received recognition: Margaret Mumm, daughter of Mike and Susie Mumm, won the Illinois Diocesan Council of Catholic Women High School Leadership Scholarship, the Knights of Columbus Scholarship, and was recipient of the engraved watch from Weber's Jewelry for having high academic achievement among athletes.

Lauren Wendt, daughter of Nikki Wendt, won the Ron & Madonna Hakman Scholarship, the Effingham Disabled American Veterans Auxiliary, the Mary Ellen O'Brien Scholarship, and the Crossroads Bank Scholarship

John Goeckner, son of Kent and Susan Goeckner, won the Knights of Columbus scholarship and Effingham Disabled American Veterans Auxiliary scholarship.

Lauren Schmidt, daughter of Kent and Liz Schmidt, won the Knights of Columbus scholarship.

Sarah Wortman, daughter of Dan and Julie Wortman, won the Knights of Columbus Scholarship and the Roy H Robson & Roma M Jackson scholarship.

Benton Hakman, son of Chris and Dana Hakman, won the Knights of Columbus Christian Athlete Award, Lake Land College Talented Student Award scholarship, and St. Anthony Booster Club scholarship.

Michael Rhodes, son of Bob and Jernice Rhodes, won the Lake Land College Dave Storm Family scholarship.

Zach Tegeler, son of Mark and Kim Tegeler, won the Lake Land College Jack and Betinha Schultz-Consuello Luttrell scholarship.

Jennifer Walters, daughter of Dave and Mary Walters, won the Lake Land College Talented Student Award and the PEO Lakeland College Award.

Kristen Schuette, daughter of Gregg and Barbara Schuette, won the Oberlin Charitable Trust scholarship, The Ron, Mary, and Tim Niebrugge scholarship, and the GFWC Illinois Federation of Women's Club scholarship.

Lexie Niebrugge, daughter of Ron and Jennifer, won the PEO Lakeland College award and the Ben Dettert Memorial scholarship.

Luke Jansen, son of Victor and Nancy Jansen, won the Effingham County Chamber of Commerce scholarship, the Crossroads Bank scholarship, and the Effingham Sunrise Rotary scholarship.

Kate Richards, Daughter of Jeff and Julie Richards, won the Effingham Noon Rotary Club, the St. Anthony Booster Club scholarship, and the Tom Bryant Memorial scholarship.

Scott Rentfrow, son of Thomas and Lori Rentfrow, won the engraved watch from Weber's Jewelry for having high academic achievement among athletes.

Neil Ritz, son of Dan and Ellen Ritz, won the Tom Bryant Memorial scholarship, and Knights of Columbus scholarship.