Tax Swap Passes in Shelby County; Other Area Races


Published on March 19 2014 11:15 am
Last Updated on March 19 2014 3:21 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

While the tax swap proposal was soundly defeated in Effingham County Tuesday, it passed in Shelby County.

It was the third try for the initiative in Shelby County, where the measure passed 3,491 Yes to 2,356 No.  

The measure establishes a 1% increase in the county sales tax, with the revenue to be used for renovation or new construction of school facilities.  School districts in Shelby County pledged to abate their property tax levy in exchange for the hike in the sales tax.

Also in Shelby County, a defeat for incumbent County Sheriff Mike Miller in the Democrat primary.  Don Koonce defeated Miller for the Democrat nomination 1,582 to 1,455.  In the Democrat primary for Shelby County Clerk, incumbent Jessica Fox defeated Delbert Lenz 1,926 to 987.  Fox was appointed Clerk earlier in this term when her predecessor retired, but this is her first run for the Clerk's office.


In Cumberland County, voters in the Village of Toledo rejected a proposed 1/2% increase in their sales tax 112 No to 76 Yes.


Jasper County voters Tuesday chose Dan Cheadle as the Republican nominee for county sheriff.  Cheadle received 659 votes to 302 votes for John Curtis.  Cheadle will run against former sheriff Rick Britton in the general election in November.  Current sheriff Ed Francis is not seeking re-election.

The Supervisor of Assessments proposal passed in Jasper County, 1,481 Yes to 206 No.


In Fayette County, Chris Smith won a four-way battle for the Republican nomination for county sheriff.  Smith received 1,340 votes to 859 votes for Bruce Bowen, 648 votes for Brad Ledbetter and 336 votes for Brent Ellis.  There is no Democrat candidate for sheriff in Fayette County.  Incumbent sheriff Aaron Lay is not seeking another term.

In the race for the Republican nomination for County Clerk, Vicky Conder defeated Barbara Schaal 1,738 to 1,256.


In Clay County, there were no contested races.


In the race for 110th District State Representative, Coles County businessman and property owner Reggie Phillips has been declared the winner.  Earlier reports had indicated Coles County Sheriff Darrell Cox was the winner, but Phillips won by about 200 votes district-wide. Phillips is looking to succeed Brad Halbrook, who is not seeking re-election.


In the statewide races Tuesday, incumbent Democrat Pat Quinn won the Democrat nomination for governor over Tio Hardimon and venture capitalist Bruce Rauner won the Republican nomination over three opponents.  Jim Oberweis won the Republican US Senate nomination and will square off against incumbent Democrat Dick Durbin in November.  Tom Cross won the Republican nomination for State Treasurer over Bob Grogan.