Election Day is Tuesday


Published on March 17 2014 11:07 am
Last Updated on March 17 2014 11:25 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Primary Election Day for 2013 is Tuesday across the state of Illinois.

Polls will be open from 6am to 7pm.

The complete Effingham county ballot can be viewed here.

Here's a look at the contested races:

On the Republican ballot, Jim Oberweis and Doug Truax are vying for the nomination for US Senator. There are four candidates for governor: Bill Brady, Dan Rutherford, Kirk Dillard and Bruce Rauner. Brady and Dillard are state senators, Rutherford is State Treasurer, and Rauner is a private businessman and venture capitalist.  The other race on the Republican ballot is for county sheriff where Darren Feldkamp, John Gardner, Dave Mahon and Mike Schutzbach are all vying for the nomination.  Incumbent John Monnet is not seeking re-election.

There are two candidates on the ballot for the Republican nomination for circuit judge, but Deborah Riley has withdrawn from the race leaving Martin Siemer as the only candidate still in the Republican race.

On the Democrat ballot, there is only one contest.  Pat Quinn is opposed by Tio Hardimon for the nomination for governor.

The other item drawing attention is the public question regarding whether to institute a 1% sales tax in Effingham County.  The revenue generated by the increase can only be used for school facility purposes.  A "Yes" vote means you're in favor of the sales tax proposal, also being called a tax swap proposal since local school boards have pledged to reduce property taxes if the sales tax hike is approved.

We'll have election returns available Tuesday night after the polls close on 979XFM and here on the website.