Area Players Inducted Into Illinois ASA Hall of Fame


Published on April 15 2013 6:28 am
Last Updated on April 15 2013 6:28 am
Written by Millie Lange

The Illinois Amateur Softball Association (ASA) enshrined nine individuals and five teams to the Illinois ASA Hall of Fame at the Decatur Hotel and Convention Center Saturday. The actual location of the state Hall of Fame and Museum is in Casey.

The Illinois ASA Softball Hall of Fame began in 1971.  The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to honor those men and women from the state of Illinois who have played a major role in the development of the game of softball. Its second purpose is to help bring attention to the sport of softball to the people of Illinois. Three from the Effingham area that were enshrined Saturday night:

Chris Long, Sigel; Umpire -- a Lovington graduate, who is the superintendent at Kansas, was a long-time men's fastpitch umpire. Former recipient of Illinois ASA Don Plarski Award, worked five national tournaments. Also served as District Commissioner for 10 years.
John Radloff, Strasburg; Player -- Fastpitch outfielder for Strasburg Merchants, Sullivan Chiefs, Stewardson-Strasburg Tate Farm Equipment, Maroa Perfect Window Cleaners, Decatur ADM and Effingham DJ's. Played outfield on three state championship teams; 1976 and 1978 Maroa Perfect and 1981 Decatur ADM (Class AA) and 1981 National Champions, Decatur ADM (Class AA). The Maroa Perfect Window Cleaners team is one of the five teams to be inducted this year.
Radloff stepped away from the "amateur" game in 1973 when the Professional World Softball League was formed, to play outfield for the St. Louis Browns that went 43-9 and captured the league crown the only year of the PWSL.
Brad Friese, Strasburg; Player-- Fastpitch player for Stewardson Merchants, Stewardson-Strasburg Tate Farm Equipment, Cowden Masters. Also co-organizer of Tate team, played for 21 seasons and managed for eight seasons. Holds all-time Tate record of games played (1,352), at bats (3,834), runs (707), hits (1,078), managerial wins (448) and most managerial wins in a season (84).
Played leftfield, catcher and designated hitter on two state championship teams; 1989 Tate Farm Equipment (Class A) and 1995 Cowden Masters (Masters) and three national tournament teams; 1989 Tate Farm Equipment (Class A), 1992 Tate Farm Equipment (Class AA) and 1995 Cowden Masters (Masters). Managed the 1989 Tate team in both the state and national tournaments.
Radloff  was an outfielder for the 1969 and 1970 Lake Land Lakers and Friese a catcher and outfielder on the 1972 and 1973 teams, both will join three other former Strasburg residents already inducted in the Illinois ASA Hall of Fame;  Bill Dickson 1B  1979, Al Krietemeier  C  1992,  Brian Rothrock  CF  1997.   
The remaining six inductees are:
Rocco Ramsey, Bowen, Men's Fastpitch Manager; John "Jake" Marker, Mahomet, Men's Fastpitch Player; Craig Behne, Bettendorf, Iowa, Men's Slowpitch Player; Roberta Secrest, Avon, Indiana, Women's Fastpitch Player; Rick Minton, Cerro Gordo, Men's Fastpitch Player; Barry Dalmasso, Mt. Vernon, Men's Fastpitch Player
The five teams inducted:
Maroa (Decatur) Perfect Window Cleaners, Men's Fastpitch; West Frankfort Cardinals, Women's Fastpitch; Milan Aces, Girl's Fastpitch; Sadorus Woodworth Trucking, Men's Fastpitch; Pinckneyville Celtics, Men's Fastpitch