Chelios, Niedermayer, Shanahan Elected To Hockey Hall


Published on July 10 2013 6:30 am
Last Updated on July 10 2013 9:59 am
Written by Millie Lange

(Toronto, Ontario) -- Chris Chelios, Scott Niedermayer and Brendan Shanahan are heading to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The three former NHL stars have been elected for induction as part of the 2013 class. Also elected as part of the 2013 class is former Canadian Olympian Geraldine Heaney, considered one of the best female players of all-time, and two-time Stanley Cup winning coach Fred Shero. Induction ceremonies are Monday, November 11.


Avalanche Sign MacKinnon

The Colorado Avalanche signed forward Nathan MacKinnon, the first overall pick of the 2013 NHL Draft, to a three-year, entry-level contract Tuesday. Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed. MacKinnon, 17, is the first
player to be selected No. 1 overall by the Avalanche since 1991, when Eric Lindros was taken by the Quebec Nordiques. He is also the third 17-year old to be  taken first overall since 1988, joining Sidney Crosby in 2005 and Joe Thornton in 1997. Last year, MacKinnon tallied 32 goals and 43 assists in 44 games for a powerhouse Halifax club.  During the postseason, he had 11 goals and 33 points in 17 appearances, leading the Mooseheads to their first-ever Quebec Major Junior Hockey League title and first-ever Memorial Cup Championship.