Ovechkin Wins Hart, Crosby Wins Lindsay At NHL Awards


Published on June 17 2013 6:41 am
Last Updated on June 17 2013 6:41 am
Written by Millie Lange

(New York, NY) -- Washington Capitals forward Alexander Ovechkin is the NHL's MVP. He won the Hart Memorial Trophy as the league's Most Valuable Player.  The NHL presented its final five postseason awards on Saturday. Ovechkin won the award for the third-time in his career after finishing third in the league in points with 56, first in power-play goals with 16 and the most shots on goal with 220. Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby was also a finalist for the Hart, but wasn't shut out as he won the Ted Lindsay Award as the Most Outstanding Player. Crosby played just 36 games, but scored 56 points, including 41 assists. Montreal's P.K. Subban won the James Norris Memorial Trophy for the NHL's best defenseman. Columbus Blue Jackets Sergei Bobrovsky won the Vezina Trophy as the top goalie. He is the first Russian goaltender to win the award. Forward Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the top rookie. He is the first Panthers player to win after leading all rookies in scoring with 31 points.


Sunday, June 16 Scoreboard

NHL Stanley Cup Final

No Game Scheduled

Monday, June 17 Schedule (Time Central)

NHL Stanley Cup Final
7:00 p.m. - Chicago Blackhawks at Boston Bruins
(Best-of-seven Stanley Cup Final tied, 1-1)