Bass Fishing State Finals Set For May 31-June 1


Published on May 9 2013 10:31 am
Last Updated on May 9 2013 10:31 am
Written by Millie Lange

The IHSA Board of Directors announced Wednesday the postponed Bass Fishing State Finals will be held Friday and Saturday, May 31-June 1 at Carlyle Lake in Carlyle. The tournament, which had originally been set for May 3-4, was postponed due to high water levels at Carlyle Lake.

“We share in the frustration of the qualifying anglers who want to get out and fish,” said IHSA Associate Executive Director Kurt Gibson. “However, we need to make sure that Carlyle Lake has the opportunity to properly lower its water levels before we conduct our state championship. We are confident that, in looking at both the long range weather models and also speaking with the Corps of Engineers, water levels will have dropped sufficiently by the end of the month and enable us to host the state finals at one of our state’s premier fishing venues.”

Several of the IHSA sectional tournaments were delayed due to weather this season, as the 22 sectionals originally scheduled for April 19 were ultimately completed April 26. Fifty-two boats qualified at the sectional level for the state final tournament and are slated to compete in the fifth annual tournament.

Teutopolis competed in the Forbes Sectional where Colin Niebrugge hauled in a 7.86 lb. lunker on his second cast of the day. This fish bested the previous Forbes Sectional record fish of 7.70 lb fish caught by Brett Deters in the inaugural event in 2009. Niebrugge won Big Bass of the day.

Teutopolis finished first with two fish weighing 8.72 pounds followed by Breese Mater Dei (2 fish 7.98), Carlyle (1 fish, 5.75), South Central (1 fish, 4.35), Robinson (3 fish, 4.25), Newton (1 fish, 4.06), Salem (1 fish, 2.95), Newton (1 fish, 2.70), Centralia (1 fish, 1.11) and South Central (1 fish, 1.06).

The top three teams advanced to the state tournament and those were Teutopolis (Colin Niebrugge, Cody Will, Collin Jansen), Breese Mater Dei (Jordan Hodges, Seth Haake, Trevor Feldman, Camden Abert) and Carlyle (Brandon Jansen, Hunter Johnson, Elijah Isaak, Logan Zimmerman).