Three Area Cross Country Runners Headed To State


Published on November 4 2013 8:22 am
Last Updated on November 4 2013 8:22 am
Written by Millie Lange

Three area cross country runners advanced from sectional action Saturday to state meets this coming Saturday.

In the Class 1A Decatur St. Tersa Sectional, Effingham St. Anthony's Anna Sophia Keller, a freshman, was the individual champion with a time of 16:45.

Decatur St. Teresa won the team championship with 38 points followed by St. Joseph-Ogden 97, Tolono Unity 113, Monticello 184, Urbana University 187, Carlinville 198, Litchfield 205, St. Anthony 216, Olney 276, Mount Zion 292, Champaign St. Thomas More 314 and Cumberland 319.

Advancing to state are the top five teams and top seven individuals not members of qualifying teams. Advancing individually along with Keller were Simona Cargnino (Olney), Lea Viano (Carlinville), Colleen Madden (Carlinville), Jordie File (Greenville), Megan Bailey (Mount Zion) and Holile Sinn (Heyworth).

In the class 1A boys Decatur St. Teresa Sectional, Altamont's Andrew Sharp advanced by finishing ninth with a a time of 15:44. Winning was Fithian Oakwood's Jon Davis with a time of 14:46.

Monticello won the team title with 93 points followed by Tolono Unity 97, Shelbyville 125, St. Joseph-Ogden 156, Urbana University 161, Champaign St. Thomas More 174, Paxton-Buckley-Loda 195, Mount Zion 208, Olney 292, Heyworth 306, Robinson 347 and Teutopolis 356.

The top five teams advance along with top seven individuals. Individuals advancing along with Sharp were Davis, Nick Hess (Champaign St. Thomas More), Eric Ponder (Tuscola), Curtis Reed (Mount Zion), Cade Martens (Heyworth), Mohammad Hosseini (Mount Zion) and Ben Strobel (Vandalia).

Effingham High School's Jenna Bingham competed in the Class 2A Decatur MacArthur Sectional and finished 12th overall with a time of 18:51.

Winning the team championship was Springfield with 81 points followed by Chatham Glenwood 85, Highland 98, Mahomet-Seymour 127, Mattoon 148, Breese Mater Dei 188, Springfield Sacred Heart-Griffin 216, East St. Louis 247, Taylorville 257, Marion 277, Champaign Central 280 and Danville 292.