Area Boys Individuals, Teams Advance To Sectionals


Published on October 28 2013 8:54 am
Last Updated on November 5 2013 9:11 am
Written by Millie Lange

Area indivdiuals and teams qualified from cross country regional action Saturday to advance to sectionals this coming Saturday.

Class 1A Robinson Regional

Teutopolis took second, Cumberland fifth and Altamont seventh to advance as teams from the Class 1A Robinson Boys Regional Saturday.

Olney won the team title with 64 points followed by Teutopolis 87, Robinson 95, Marshall 113, Cumberland 135, Lawrenceville 162, Altamont 164, North Clay (Louisville) 195, Mount Carmel 236, Dieterich 245, Newton 251 and Effingham St. Anthony 311.

Altamont's Andrew Sharp, a senior, won the individual championship with a time of 15:40. Also advancing on the Indians team were Jesus Flores 13th in 17:21, Devin Durbin 32nd in 18:13, Ethan Deadmond 63rd in 20:15, Jake Seidel 70th in 20:41 and Collin York 82nd in 23:09.

Advancing individually were Vandalia's Ben Strobel, third, 15:55, Greenville's Reid Rinella, fifth, 16:23,  Mount Carmel's Grady Wilkinson, eighth, 16:52, North Clay's Billy Cruse, 22nd, 17:43 and Greenville's Logan Robert, 23rd, 17:48.

Olney, T-town, Robinson, Marshall and Cumberland advance as teams to Saturday's sectional at Decatur St.Teresa's Hickory Point Golf Course at 11 a.m.

Competing for Teutopolis were: Lucas Probst, 11th, 17:09, Scott Isley 14th, 17:24,  Riley Drees, 19th, 17:40,  Nick Bierman, 27th, 17:57, Michael Bradley, 28th, 17:58, Zach Mette, 31st, 18:05 and Logan Probst, 33rd, 18:14.

Competing for Cumberland were: Tye Sutherland, sixth, 16:33, Nathan Day, 17th, 17:33, Kyle Swingler, 36th, 18:27, Andrew Talley, 39th, 18:34, Dreyton Ruholl, 51st, 19:19, JD Thompson, 53rd, 19:21 and Eli Ray, 78th, 21:37.


Class 1A Shelbyville Regional

Neoga finished ninth, out of the running for a team berth in sectional action, but Ryan Evans, a senior, took 12th in 16:32 to advance individually.

Mount Zion's Curtis Reed won the regional with a time of 15:21.12. Winning the team title was Shelbyville with 42 points followed by Mount Zion 52, Heyworth 113, Carlinville 135, Decatur St. Teresa 155, Clinton 160, Argenta-Oreana 183, Sullivan 185, Neoga 189, Litchfield 195, Maroa-Forsythe 310, Moweaqua Central A&M 337 and Staunton 340.

Shelbyville, Mount Zion, Heyworth, Carlinville, Decatur St. Teresa, Clinton and Argenta-Oreana advance as teams to this Saturday's Decatur St. Teresa Sectional at 11 a.m. at Hickory Point Golf Course.


Class 2A Champaign Centennial Regional

Effingham finished ninth in the Class 2A Champaign Centennial Regional and did not advance to sectional action.

Mahomet-Seymour won with 25 points followed by Champaign Central 83, Charleston 101, Danville 115, Taylorville 117, Champaign Centennial 133, Mattoon 137, Urbana 258, Effingham 263 and Rantoul 268. Mahomet-Seymour, Champaign Central, Charleston, Danville, Taylorville and Champaign Centennial advance as teams.

Danville's Johnny Leverenz, a senior, won the individual championship with a time of 15:00. Advancing as individuals were Urbana's Carter Huff, ninth, 16:14 and Mattoon's Ben Righter, 18th, 16:39, Jacob Perry, 19th, 16:40, James Kimball, 29th, 17:00 and Andrew Bell, 30th, 17:02.

The sectional will be held Saturday at Decatur MacArthur's Hickory Point Golf Course at noon.