Several Area Players On H&R Area Team


Published on March 25 2013 12:48 pm
Last Updated on March 25 2013 12:48 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Several area boys basketball players were named to the Decatur Herald & Review All-Area Teams.

Anthony Johnson of Oblong was named the Player of the Year. Earning the Coach of the Year honors was Taylorville's Carey McVickers who led the Tornadoes to an 18-win season and their first regional championship in 11 years in his first season as coach at Taylorville.

Johnson, a 6-foot-5 senior, guard, averaged 24.7 points, 9.6 rebounds and 3.7 assists a game.

Also named to the First Team was Dieterich's Dalton Hinterscher, a 5-foot-10 senior guard. Hinterscher averaged 25.7 points a game and set a single-season scoring record with 796 points.

Aaron Siler, Robinson, a 5-foot-11 senior guard, made First Team along with Brandon Wolfe, a 6-foot-3 junior forward from Casey-Westfield and Devon Wright, a 6-foot-1 senior forward from Nokomis.

Second Team honors went to Cowden-Herrick's Luke Moore, a 6-foot-3 senior, forward who averaged 17.1 points and 10.6 rebounds a contest, along with St. Elmo's Levi Maxey, a 6-foot junior guard, who averaged 17.2 points and 3.6 rebounds.

Other Second Team players were Kyle Wilhour, 6-foot-2 junior guard at Taylorville, Max Cook, 6-foot-2 junior guard at Lincoln and Connor Gross, 6-foot junior guard at Bement.

Third Team honors went to Kyle Pruemer, 6-foot-6 senior center and Derek Smith, 6-foot-2 senior guard at Teutopolis, Dylan Davidson of Newton, a 6-foot-1 senior guard, Nick Stokowski, a 6-foot-2 junior guard at Monticello and Ethan Lei, a 6-foot-4 junior forward at Flora.

Honorable Mention from around this area were Hunter Keith Effingham), Jake Stombaugh (Effingham), Jacob Schuette (Effingham St. Anthony), Jake Baker (Neoga), Connor Beasley (St. Elmo), Trevor Brumleve (Cumberland), Justin Fulk (Stewardson-Strasburg), Logan Hildebrand (North Clay, Louisville), Austin Hunter (Brownstown), Jon Kuhns (Altamont), Matt Sefton (Brownstown), Luke Stone (Newton), Fischer Tharp (South Central), Jared Waldhoff (Teutopolis) and Garrett Ziegler (Altamont).

Others were Michael Akande (Robinson), Derrick Nicholas (Robinson), Matt McCown (Casey-Westfield), Zach Murphy (Casey-Westfield), Brody Bence (Shelbyville), Nick Bates (Tuscola), Gavin Block (Lincoln), Andy Brown (Sullivan), Spencer Garner (Central &AM), Nick Hudson (Arcola), Tanner Jackson (Taylorville), Andrew Maxwell (Arthur-Lovington), Alex Metzger (Pana), Ethan Miller (Charleston), Tate Nohren (Olney), Bryce Pearce (Flora), Bryan Phipps (Monticello), Jared Pilson (Mattoon), Curtis Plank (Arthur-Lovington), Will Podbelsek (Lincoln), Curtis Ramsey (Central A&M), Tyce Rittenhouse (Bement), Alec St. Pierre (Olney), Trivette Scales (Casey-Westfield), Tyler Schuring (Arthur), Kollin Seaman (Arcola), Alex Snyder (Central A&M), Christian Taylor (Flora), Andy Webb (Atwood-Hammond) and Truston Winnett (Charleston).