Wendte Named Coach of Year; Jones Area Player of Year


Published on March 21 2013 8:39 am
Last Updated on March 21 2013 8:39 am
Written by Millie Lange

Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City earned more honors this season as Coach Carolyn Wendte was named the Decatur Herald & Review Coach of the Year while senior Micah Jones earned Player of the Year.

CHBC headed to the Class 1A State Tournament for the second straight year and third time in four years. After placing second last year but losing three double figure performers, the Hornets weren't really perceived as a threat to return. But return they did and finished fourth.

Wendte took her team to a 26-7 record and CHBC's third trophy at state in four years and that success earned her the Decatur Herald & Review Area Coach of the Year honor.

Other honors went to CHBC's Micah Jones, 6-foot-1 senior center, who averaged 23.9 points and 16.6 rebounds per game. Jones was named the Player of the Year and earned First Team honors. She was a four-year starter for the Hornets and finished with 2,220 points, 1,499 rebounds, 390 assists and 355 blocks.

During Jones' four years, the Hornets finished with four regional titles, three sectional and super-sectional championships and three state trophies with a 103-21 record.

First Team honors went to Candace Niemerg (Dieterich), a 6-foot-0 senior center. She averaged 17.6 points per game and 11.7 rebounds. She has over 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds for her career.

Also named First Team were Jessica Awe (Mount Pulaski), Allie Schoonover (Pana) and Ashley Schnieder (Nokomis).

Second Team honors went to Madeline Hartke (Teutopolis), a junior, forward who was a defensive stopper for the Wooden Shoes who reached the super-sectional. Also named were Haley Toohill (Clinton), Amber Bruno (Vandalia), Andrea Dickerson (Mount Pulaski) and Erin Weaver (Tuscola).

Third Team honors went to Ava Paruleski (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), a 5-foot-8 senior who came on strong in the second half of the season and was an integral part of the Hornets run to the state tournament. Also named were Sarah Bailey (Central A&M), Taylor Edwards (Arcola), Erika Leever (Mount Pulaski) and Asia Morrison (Sullivan).

Local honorable mentions were Caitlin Kaufman (Effingham), Kelli Utz (Effingham), Josie Zerrusen (Effingham), Makayla Walsh (Effingham St. Anthony) Jillian Deters (Neoga), Megan Jansen (Newton), Maddie Ohnesorge (Altamont) and Morgan Swingler (Newton).

Other area honorable mentions were Lindsay Burton (Shelbyville), Kyleigh Decker (Casey-Westfield), Megan Godoyo (Vandalia) and Crimson Jones (Flora).