Cody Rincker Named Area Coach Of The Year


Published on April 19 2017 1:51 pm
Last Updated on April 19 2017 1:51 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham St. Anthony High School's Cody Rincker was named the Decatur Herald & Review Area Coach of the Year.

Rincker guided St. Anthony to the Class 1A State Basketball Tournament championship this past season. The Bulldogs defeated Okawville 49-46 in overtime to win the title. And, it happened on Rincker's 29th birthday.

Named to the All-Area Boys First Team were Mitch Hardiek (Teutopolis), Drew Gibson (St. Anthony), Grant Wolfe (Effingham), Calvin Fisher (Monticello) and Malcom Miller (Shelbyville).

Second Team members were Ryan Armstrong (Altamont), Landon Feezel (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Tyson Magee (Cumberland), Dylan Dirks (Robinson) and Dawson Maus (Oblong)

Brant Bueker (Teutopolis) reached Third Team honors.

Honorable Mention went to Brent Beals (Effingham), Alex Beesley (St. Anthony), Konnor Blackerby (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Brock Bueker (Teutopolis), Sam Childerson (Altamont), Nick Cohorst (Newton), Alex Deters (St. Anthony), Jacob Donaldson (Effingham), Adam Levitt (St. Anthony), Aaron Nohren (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Ryan Radloff (Dieterich), Mitchell Stevenson (Altamont), Chris Ungrund (Teutopolis), Cade Walsh (St. Anthony), Zach Wolke (Cumberland) and Landon Wolfe (Effingham).