Thursday is Law Day for 2013


Published on April 30 2013 6:29 pm
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Law Day for 2013 is set for Thursday.

Law Day is sponsored nationally by the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, including Effingham Elks Lodge #1016.  The event lets high school students have a hand in city and county government for a day.  Effingham and St. Anthony students work with Effingham city officials, while students from Altamont, Beecher City, Dieterich and Teutopolis will work with Effingham County officials.

The schedule for Effingham and St. Anthony students will include a Meet and Greet at 8:30am at City Hall, tours of the police department and fire department, shooting range demonstrations and a ride on a fire engine, and a mock City Council meeting at 1:30pm.

County activities will include refreshments for students at 9am, a firearms and range safety class and a range practical performed by students at the State Police firing range from 9:15 to 11:30am, job shadowing of county officeholders from 1:30 to 2:15pm, and an introduction of board members and information sharing by students at 2:15pm.

All participating students and officeholders, parents of the participating students and school faculty are invited to a noon luncheon at the Elks Lodge on South Banker.

Participating county students include, from Dieterich: Candace Niemerg, Landriah Hardiek, Andrew Hall and Chris Lidy...from Teutopolis: Sydney Ladendecker, Trent Goeckner, Michael Poston, Holly Wright and Kelsi Haller...from Beecher City: Mary Gardner, Taylor Zacha, Sarah Brackney and Katelyn Donovan...and from Altamont: Jennifer Whitt.

Participating city students include, from Effingham: Mayor Makaela Nava-Sifuentes, Public Health and Safety Commissioner Jennifer Wohltman, Public Property Commissioner Anna Shelton, City Administrator Jordanne Beaulieu, Public Works Director and City Engineer Kodi Avery, Economic Development Director Brenton Hull, City Engineer Cody Sennett, City Clerk Shanna McIntyre and Police Chief Logan Talley...and from St. Anthony: Accounts and Finances Commissioner Sean Meyer, Streets and Public Improvements Commissioner Michael Rhodes, City Attorney Dalton Anderson, Building Official Kassy Dammerman, Electrical Inspector Landon Rhodes, City Treasurer Tyler Bloemer, Police Department Communication Manager Kyle Britton, Fire Chief Eli Dasenbrock and Director of Tourism Zach Tegeler.