Honey Competition Results


Published on September 4 2012 11:43 am
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The 2nd Annual Honey Competition hosted by the Crossroads Beekeepers produced some local winners.  Regional Apiary Inspector Dan Wright of the Illinois Department of Agriculture who serves as president of the Illiana Beekeepers Association was the judge for the event.

Honey was judged in several categories, including cut comb, light, amber, and dark.

Category winners are as follows:

Cut Comb--First Place-Dave Koenegstein, Second Place-John Killough

Light Liquid Honey--First Place-Larry Passalacqua, Second Place-Rick Russell and Stacey James, Third Place-Aaron Quicksall

Amber Liquid Honey--First Place-Dave Koenegstein, Second Place-Larry Quicksall, Third Place-David and Lisa Dhom

Dark Liquid Honey--First Place-Joan Willenborg.

The Crossroads Beekeepers will hold their next monthly meeting on Monday, September 10 at 6:30pm in the basement of the University of Illinois Extension Center, 1209 North Wenthe in Effingham.  Please enter through the west doors and go downstairs.